ACCRA: Zimbabwe emerged as the inaugural champions of the Women’s T20 Cricket tournament at the 13th African Games, clinching the gold medal after a riveting Super Over victory against Team South Africa in the final held at the Achimota Senior Secondary School in Accra on Wednesday.

Zimbabwe commenced the contest by posting a total of 112/5 in their allotted 20 overs. Modester Mupachikwa led the scoring with 31 runs off 49 balls. In reply, all-rounder Miané Smit showcased an unbeaten innings of 31* runs from 32 balls for South Africa, leading to a dramatic tie before Zimbabwe secured the win in the one-over eliminator to claim the ultimate prize.

After winning the toss and choosing to bowl first, South Africa resisted a strong start from the Lady Chevrons openers as Leah Jones (1/25) struck in the fourth over to dismiss Sharne Mayers (10) to leave Zimbabwe 18/1.

Ndhlovu and Mupachikwa then combined for an important second-wicket stand to help Zimbabwe reach 39/1 at the end of the powerplay before guiding their side across the 50-run mark in the eighth over.

Soon after reaching the halfway stage of the innings on 63/1, Ndhlovu and Mupachikwa’s partnership was eventually brought to an end on 49 by the South African captain as Nondumiso Shangase (1/9) pinned Ndhlovu LBW for 28 off 27 balls.

Despite the loss of Ndhlovu, Zimbabwe continued to build their innings, with Mupachikwa and Mary-Anne Musonda (8) adding 16 runs for the third wicket before both fell in consecutive deliveries to Ghandi Jafta (1/14) and Kayla Reyneke (1/21), leaving Zimbabwe at 83/4 in the 16th over.

To set a challenging target, Pellagia Mujaji (20*), along with Chiedza Dhururu (5) and Josephine Nkomo (4*), contributed valuable runs, guiding Zimbabwe to a total of 112/5 after 20 overs. The final wicket fell to Jané Winster (1/20), with wicketkeeper Karabo Meso completing the dismissal after Dhururu mistimed the second ball of the last over.

With 113 runs required to be crowned the first-ever African Games champion, Team SA experienced early disappointment as the opening three batters lost their wicket within the powerplay, with Josephine Nkomo (1/16), Ndhlovu (2/21) and a run out responsible for removing Simone Lourens (3), Annerie Dercksen (5) and Faye Tunnicliffe (10).

After arriving at the end of the sixth over on 26/3, Team SA soon lost their fourth of the innings as skipper Shangase (7) was caught out by Nkomo in the inner-ring, with Loreen Tshuma (1/14) opening her account.

With a rebuild job required from the South Africans, the duo of Jones (15) and Smit steered Team SA to 45/4 after 10 overs before Zimbabwe struck again, this time Francisca Chipare (1/18) bowling Jones in the 11th over.

As the run rate crept up to 7.5 an over, Smit guided the innings alongside Meso (12), adding 36 runs for the sixth wicket before Meso’s dismissal off Marenge’s (1/26) bowling left South Africa 84/6 after 16.2 overs.

Reyneke (9) contributed crucial runs before being stumped as Ndhlovu grabbed her second of the day, with South Africa now needing 13 runs off 12 balls.

In a tense finale, Smit and Jafta (7) worked diligently to guide South Africa to the brink of victory on 112/7. However, a run-out off the final ball led to a tie, forcing the match into a Super Over.

In the subsequent six-ball shootout, Zimbabwe managed to claim two wickets, conceding only two runs. In their chase, Zimbabwe’s Ndhlovu (4*) sealed the historic win and gold medal with a lofted sweep for four off the second ball as Team SA ended up with the silver medal.

Team SA – Women’s T20 Cricket Squad: 2023 African Games in Accra, Ghana 

Nondumiso Shangase (Captain) (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Nobulumko Baneti (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Jemma Botha (Western Province), Annerie Dercksen (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Jenna Evans (DP World Lions), Gandhi Jafta (Fidelity Titans), Leah Jones (Western Province), Simone Lourens (Fidelity Titans), Karabo Meso (DP World Lions), Seshnie Naidu (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Kayla Reyneke (Western Province), Miané Smit (Recon Tactical Free State), Faye Tunnicliffe (Western Province), Jané Winster (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Caitlin Wyngaard (Western Province)



Dinesha Devnarain (Head Coach), Claire Terblanche (Assistant Coach), Marcia Matshipi Letsoalo (Team Manager), Gabi-Lee van der Westhuizen (Strength and Conditioning), Esther Bengu (Physiotherapist)


Game 1: 

Namibia beat South Africa by 1 run (DLS)  

Namibia: 89/7 after 20 overs; W. Mwatile 37 (41), E. van Zyl 19 (17); J. Botha 2/9, J. Winster 2/17

South Africa: 29/4 after 6 overs; M. Smit 12*, J. Botha 5 (7); K. Green 3/6, W. Mwatile 1/7

Game 2:

South Africa beat Tanzania by 8 wickets 

Tanzania: 66 all out after 18.3 overs; T. Omary 9 (10),  H. Omary 9 (15); N. Shangase 5/13, L. Jones ⅖

South Africa: 67/2 after 10.2 overs; F. Tunnicliffe 29* (27), J. Botha 28 (26); A. Mohamed 1/12, A. Qwele 1/19

Game 3: 

South Africa beat Nigeria by 4 wickets

Nigeria: 74 all out after 18.4 overs; F. Eseigbe 17 (28), P. Agboya 15 (20); S. Naidu 4/13, K. Reyneke 3/12

South Africa: 78/6 after 14.5 overs; F. Tunnifcliffe 45 (34), M. Smit 10* (15); L. Udeh 5/18, U. Peace 1/15


South Africa beat Uganda by 50 runs

South Africa: 122/4 after 20 overs; N. Shangase 38 (42), M. Smit 20 (16); C. Aweko 2/27, J. Mbabazi 1/17

Uganda: 72 all out after 18.4 overs; E. Iloku 19 (33), P. Kulume 12 (9); K. Reyneke 3/13, J. Winster 2/12


Match Tied – Zimbabwe beat South Africa in the Super Over

Zimbabwe: 112/5 after 20 overs; M. Mupachikwa 31 (49), K. Ndhlovu 28 (27); N. Shangase 1/9, G. Jafta 1/14

South Africa: 112/8 after 20 overs; M. Smit 31* (32), L. Jones 15 (20); K. Ndhlovu 2/21, L. Tshuma 1/14

South Africa: 2 all out after 0.3 overs; M. Smit 2 (2); F. Chipare ½

Zimbabwe: 4/0 after 0.2 overs; K. Ndhlovu 4* (2); J. Winster 0/4

For media inquiries, please contact:

Lita Gqirana – Proteas Women Media Specialist 

Cell.: (+27) 76 503 9655



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.