Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.


It initially operated under the name of the United Cricket Board of South Africa (UCB) which came into being on 29 June 1991, following the completion of the unity process between the South African Cricket Union (SACU) and the South African Cricket Board (SACB).

CSA was formed in 2002 and ran parallel to UCB, with the UCB responsible for the administration of amateur cricket and CSA responsible for professional cricket. As a result of changes in the tax laws, UCB was amalgamated into CSA in 2008.


CSA is conducted on a non-profit basis with the intent and purpose that its capital and income, from whatever sources, shall be applied solely towards the promotion of its objective and the advancement of cricket in South Africa contributing towards the sustainability and growth of cricket in the regions of its respective Members.


To make cricket in South Africa the most accessible, inclusive, and globally competitive sport.


Enabling each individual interested in cricket to fully explore and express their talent, passion, and love for the game, making cricket attractive to all.



  • Competitive world-class (and domestic league) National Teams (Men and Women)
  •  An organization fuelled by being best-in-class



  • Market relevance of cricket through growth in fan numbers 
  • Increase in player, support and technical staff and participation, with particular focus on women



  • Deliberately growing our talent pool, fan base, and partnerships by ensuring the sport is inclusive of all South Africans


  • Honesty & Integrity
  • Professionalism & Diligence
  • Mutual Respect & Fairness


Lawson Naidoo (independent non-executive director/ Board Chairman)

Ncumisa Mayosi (independent non-executive director)

Muditambi Ravele (independent non-executive director)

Pearl Maphoshe (independent non-executive director)

Palesa Kadi (independent non-executive director)

John Burke (independent non-executive director)

Mark Rayner (independent non-executive director)

Andrew Hudson (independent non-executive director)

Craig Nel (non-executive director)

Thato Moagi (non-executive director)

John Mogodi (non-executive director)

Tebogo Siko (non-executive director)

Craig Nel (non-executive director)

Pholetsi Moseki (executive director)

Tjaart van der Walt (non-executive director)


Rihan Richards (CSA President)
Donovan May (CSA Vice President)
Johannes Adams (Western Province Cricket Association)
Yunus Bobat (KwaZulu-Natal Coastal Cricket)
Micheal Eksteen (South Western District Cricket)
Leon Coetzee (Eastern Province Cricket)
Thato Moagi (Easterns Cricket Union)
John Mogodi (Limpopo Impala Cricket)
Gibson Molale (Northern Cape Cricket)
Dr Mohammed Moosajee (Central Gauteng Lions)
Tebogo Motlhabane (North West Cricket)
Simphiwe Ndzundzu (Border Cricket)
Craig Nel (Mpumalanga Cricket)
Tebogo Siko (Northerns Titans Cricket)
Xander Snyders (Free State Cricket)
Shaun van der Byl  (KwaZulu- Natal Inland Cricket)
Godwin Von Willingh (Boland Cricket)

1991-1992: Geoff Dakin
1992-1998: Krish Mackerdhuj
1998-2000: Ray White
2000-2003: Percy Sonn
2003-2007: Ray Mali
2007-2008: Norman Arendse
2008-2011: Dr. Mtutuzeli Nyoka
2011-2012: AK Khan (acting)
2012-2013: Dr. Willie Basson (acting)
2013-2020: Chris Nenzani
2020-2021: Beresford William (acting)
2021: Rihan Richards


1991-2000: Dr. Ali Bacher
2000-2012: Gerald Majola
2012-2013: Jacques Faul (acting)
2013: Naasei Appiah (acting)
2013-2017: Haroon Lorgat
2017-2020: Thabang Moroe
2019-2020: Dr Jacques Faul (acting)
2020-2021: Kugandrie Govender (acting)
2021: Pholetsi Moseki


1991: Clive Rice (ODI only)
1992-1994: Kepler Wessels
1994-2000: Hansie Cronje
2000-2003: Shaun Pollock
2003-2014: Graeme Smith
2011: AB de Villiers became captain of the limited overs squads
2013: Faf du Plessis became captain of the T20 squad
2014-2016: Hashim Amla
2016: AB de Villiers
2016-2019: Faf du Plessis
2020: Quinton de Kock
2021: Temba Bavuma (ODI & T20) and Dean Elgar (Test)
2023: Temba Bavuma (ODI & Test) and Aiden Markram (T20I)


1991-1994: Mike Procter
1994-1999: Bob Woolmer
1999-2002: Graeme Ford
2002-2004: Eric Simons
2004-2005: Ray Jennings
2005-2010: Mickey Arthur
2010-2011: Corrie van Zyl
2011-2013: Gary Kirsten
2013-2017: Russell Domingo
2017-2019: Ottis Gibson
2019: Enoch Nkwe
2020: Mark Boucher
2023: Shukri Conrad (Red ball) and Rob Walter (White ball)