MELBOURNE: A double century by David Warner ensured Australia took control over the Proteas by the end of a blistering hot second day of the Boxing Day Test at the MCG in Australia on Tuesday.

Playing in his 100th Test, the opener hit exactly 200 (254 balls, 16 fours, 2 sixes) before retiring hurt with cramp although the hosts still went on to reach 386 for three at stumps – a lead of 197 runs.

There was also a half-century from Steve Smith, who fell for 85 (161 balls, 9 fours, 1 six), after sharing in the key partnership of the day that was worth 239 for the third wicket alongside Warner.

It was a difficult day for the tourists with most of the bowlers toiling in the heat, although Anrich Nortje impressed with his energy and pace after which he was rewarded with the wicket of Smith.

Having being bowled out for 189 on day one, Dean Elgar’s charges were pushed further behind Australia after striking just once in the first session when the only wicket to fall was that of Marnus Labuschagne, run out by Nortje attempting to sneak an overthrow for 14 with the score on 75.

But Warner and Smith took them to lunch on 136 for two and the pair added a further 95 in the next session when the former went to his century. The latter finally fell six overs before the new ball was taken, before Warner’s pain forced him off after he braved his way to become only the second batter to reach a double ton in his centurion Test.

That gave the South Africans an opening and there was another retirement that followed when Cameron Green was struck on the hand by Marco Jansen. The visitors themselves were not spared injury concerns after Lungi Ngidi could not finish his 16th over and left the field with cramp.

Australia’s strong day was complete when Travis Head hit a run-a-ball unbeaten 48 to ensure they were in charge at the close.

Proteas Test squad against Australia

Dean Elgar (captain, Momentum Multiply Titans), Temba Bavuma (DP World Lions), Gerald Coetzee (ITEC Knights), Theunis de Bruyn (Momentum Multiply Titans), Sarel Erwee (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Simon Harmer (Momentum Multiply Titans), Marco Jansen (Dafabet Warriors), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Anrich Nortje (Dafabet Warriors), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions), Rassie van der Dussen (DP World Lions), Kyle Verreynne (wicketkeeper, Six Gun Grill Western Province), Lizaad Williams (Momentum Multiply Titans), Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins).

South Africa Test Tour to Australia Itinerary

Four-day Tour Match

09 – 12 December

Cricket Australia XI drew with South Africa – The Allan Border Field, Brisbane



17 – 21 December

Australia beat South Africa by six wickets – The Gabba, Brisbane


26 – 30 December

Australia vs South Africa – MCG, Melbourne


04 – 08 January

Australia vs South Africa – SCG, Sydney



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.