Team SA Bow Out Of African Games With Tightly Contested Defeat To Uganda

Team SA Bow Out Of African Games With Tightly Contested Defeat To Uganda

ACCRA: Team South Africa suffered a narrow two-wicket loss against Uganda in a low-scoring thriller at the Achimota Cricket Oval on Wednesday.

Defending 95, South Africa’s bowlers managed to take the game to the death with Uganda needing 11 off the final over and it was Brian Masaba (14*) who was up for the challenge. The right-hander struck two lusty sixes off the first and last ball of the over to secure a win for his side and inflict heartbreak for South Africa.

South Africa headed into the game knowing that a win was a minimum requirement to qualify for the semi-finals but the result means they finished third on the points table behind Uganda and Kenya.

After winning the toss and opting to bat first, South African captain George van Heerden struck a hard-fought 44 off 45 balls (1 four, 2 sixes), with Aphiwe Yako (18*) the only other batter to register double figures.

Bilal Hassan and Alpesh Ramjani were the chief destroyers for Uganda with their return of 4/10 and 3/9 respectively.

Roger Mukasa then led the reply with an anchoring 41 off 54 balls (3 fours) at the top of the order but regular strikes from South Africa took the game down to the wire.

Lehan Botha (2/15) and Jason Raubenheimer (2/20) both claimed two wickets apiece, while Heinrigh Pieterse (1/18), Eathan Frosler (1/3) and Yako (1/27) picked up a wicket each, but it was Uganda that ultimately prevailed.

Team South Africa Men’s Squad

George van Heerden (captain, SU), Dylan Bester (UFS), Lehan Botha (SU), Ethan Frosler (NMU), Kyle Glennistor (NWU), Maahir Joseph (SU), Keagan Lion-Cachet (UP), Raps Motlhoaring (CUT), Lifa Ntanzi (UJ), Mini Ntobela (NWU), Heinrigh Pieterse (NWU), Jesse Prodehl (UWC), Jason Raubenheimer (CUT), Lwando Tywaku (UWC) and Aphiwe Yako (UP).

Group A Fixtures (all times local)

Sunday, 17 March at 13:50

South Africa beat Ghana by 134 runs at Achimota Cricket Oval, Accra

Monday, 18 March at 13:50

Kenya beat South Africa by 70 runs at Achimota Cricket Oval, Accra

Wednesday, 20 March at 09:30 

Uganda beat South Africa by two wickets at Achimota Cricket Oval, Accra

Semi-Finals and Final

Semi-Final 1 

Thursday, 21 March at 09:30

Uganda v B2* at Achimota Cricket Oval, Accra

Semi-Final 2

Thursday, 21 March at 13:50

B1 v Kenya at Achimota Cricket Oval, Accra


Saturday, 23 March at 13:50

Winner SF 1 v Winner SF 2 at Achimota Cricket Oval, Accra


*Group B 

Namibia, Nigeria, Tanzania and Zimbabwe



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications       


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.