Sunrisers Eastern Cape are the Betway SA20 Champions

Sunrisers Eastern Cape are the Betway SA20 Champions

Sunday, 12 February: The Sunrisers Eastern Cape have been crowned the inaugural Betway SA20 champions.

The Gqeberha-based team cruised to a comfortable four-wicket victory over the Pretoria Capitals at a sold out Wanderers on Sunday.

The final was moved to the reserve day after a waterlogged field and inclement weather forced it to be postponed. But that did nothing to dim the excitement with the Bullring creating a fabulous atmosphere. And the Sunrisers Eastern Cape did not disappoint by delivering a brilliant bowling performance to by bowling the Capitals out for just 135.

It was led by the ever-green Roelof van Merwe. The 38-year-old delivered an excellent spell with the left-arm spinner picking up 4/31. Van der Merwe was ably supported by Sisanda Magala (2/30) and Ottniel Baartman (2/22).

The Sunrisers’ reply did not get off to the best of starts with Temba Bavuma departing in the second over to Eathan Bosch.

Aiden Markram’s team, however, were soon back on track with Adam Rossington counter-attacking through a 30-ball 57. Rossington tore into the Capitals’ attack and ensured the chase was never going to be tricky.

Anrich Nortje bowled his heart out for the Capitals in a bid to haul his team back into the game, but ultimately his 2/21 was not going to be enough.

Marco Jansen delivered the killer blow for the Sunrisers with his six over long-off, setting off the celebrations all the way from Johannesburg to Gqeberha.

Full list of Betway SA Award Winners: 

Betway SA20 Champions: Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Runners-up: Pretoria Capitals

Spirit of the Season: Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Rising Star: Eathan Bosch (Pretoria Capitals)

Batter of the Season: Jos Buttler (Paarl Royals)

Bowler of the Season: Roelof van der Merwe (Sunrisers Eastern Cape)

Player of the Season: Aiden Markram (Sunrisers Eastern Cape)

About Betway SA20  


Betway SA20 is a six-team franchise T20 League operating under the auspices of Cricket South Africa. Cricket South Africa is the governing body of all cricket in South Africa.



Video and audio featuring PC’s Wayne Parnell and Eathan Bosch and SEC’s Aiden Markram and Roelof van der Merwe can be downloaded for editorial use here:

Parnell and Bosch –

Markram and van der Merwe –

Images for all matches available for free download on