Sunrisers Claim Back-To-Back Betway SA20 Titles

Sunrisers Claim Back-To-Back Betway SA20 Titles

Saturday, 10 February 2024: Sunrisers Eastern Cape have won back-to-back Betway SA20 championships after an empathic 89-run victory over Durban’s Super Giants at Newlands on Saturday evening.

After topping the group stage, the Sunrisers delivered a clinical performance in the final.

Half-centuries from Tom Abell (55) and Tristan Stubbs (56 not out) along with contributions from Jordan Hermann and captain Aiden Markram, who both contributed 42, respectively, saw the Sunrisers post a formidable 204/3.

Partnerships were crucial in the Sunrisers’ innings with Hermann and Abell setting up the winning total with a 90-run stand for the second wicket after the early loss of Dawid Malan.

Durban’s Super Giants captain, Keshav Maharaj, hit back with a double-wicket over by removing both set batters in Hermann and Abell.

But the Sunrisers showed they had plenty more in reserve with Markram and Stubbs rebuilding the innings before exploding towards the backend with 98 runs off 55 balls.

The Sunrisers’ bowling unit has been their strongest discipline all season and their seamers certainly rose to the occasion on the night.

Dan Worrall (2/15) set the tone upfront again with the dismissal of Quinton de Kock early on before Marco Jansen delivered two hammer blows in the fourth over with the removal of Jon Jon Smuts and Bhanuka Rajapaksa to leave the Super Giants reeling at 7/3.

Wiaan Mulder attempted a recovery job with quickfire 38, but that’s when Ottniel Baartman (2/17) delivered the moment of the match.

He had already dismissed Matthew Breetzke, but it was his in-swinger that wrapped the dangerous Heinrich Klaasen on the pads first ball that closed the game as a contest.

DSG were on the ropes at 63/5 which left the door open for Jansen (5/30) to come charging through and finish off the Super Giants tail to complete the back-to-back triumphs.

It was a poignant moment for Jansen after he struck the six last season that won the inaugural Betway SA20 championship and now claimed the final wicket again this year.


Full list of Betway SA20 Award Winners:

Betway SA20 champions: Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Runners-up: Durban’s Super Giants

Spirit of Cricket Award: Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Rising Star: Marco Jansen (Sunrisers Eastern Cape)

Batter of the Season: Heinrich Klaasen (Durban’s Super Giants)

Bowler of the Season: Ottniel Baartman (Sunrisers Eastern Cape)

Betway Player of the Season: Heinrich Klaasen (Durban’s Super Giants)



Video from the post-match press conference featuring DSG’s Lance Klusener and Heinrich Klaasen, with SEC’s Aiden Markram, Ottniel Baartman, and Marco Jansen is available for editorial use in the below link.

Rights free images from the Betway SA20 are available below.

Betway SA20 Season 2 | SPORTZPICS Photography