Stylish Cobras win Cubs Week in Stellenbosch

Stylish Cobras win Cubs Week in Stellenbosch

STELLENBOSCH: Contrasting half-centuries by Ethan Cunningham and Daniel Smith together with a disciplined bowling display helped the Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras ease to the Cricket South Africa (CSA) Under-19 Franchise Cubs Week title after they crushed the Momentum Multiply Titans in the final in Stellenbosch on Sunday.

The Cape side won by a thumping nine wickets to conclude the 14th edition of the tournament, being played in a bio-secure environment (BSE) at the University of Stellenbosch, as the only unbeaten team.

The Hollywood Dolphins came in third place after overcoming the Imperial Lions by 14 runs in their play-off, while the Warriors were finally rewarded for their endeavour with an 87-run triumph over the VKB Knights – their first victory of the week and one that saw them end in fifth.

But the final day was all about the competition’s best team and deserved winners, the Cobras after they cruised past the Titans at the Coetzenburg Oval.

After winning the toss and batting, their Centurion-based opponents could only manage a modest 201 for seven after two wickets each for Asakhe Tsaka (2/31), Salmaan Ajam (2/35) and Darian Naidoo (2/55).

A rare failure from captain Jordan Hermann meant that someone else had to stand up for the Titans and Dewald Brevis had to be that batsman with his attacking innings of 62 off 67 balls (9 fours).

He lacked major support, though, with Nathan Steyn’s 34 just about helping their side cross 200 and leave the Cobras favourites.

Captain Smith then dropped anchor during the chase with an unbeaten 77 (120 balls, 10 fours) that allowed Cunningham (79 off 69 balls, 12 fours, 1 six) and Nicholas Keevy (43 off 40 balls) to attack and play freely – the Cape Town-based team coasting to victory with 12 overs to spare.

Luc Benkenstein starred with bat and ball as the Dolphins edged out the Lions at Tassies Oval.

The all-rounder first struck 56 off 66 balls (7 fours, 1 six) as the boys from KwaZulu-Natal posted 211 in 47.4 overs.

Liam McCarthy took four for 39 for the Lions, who then struggled in the reply and were restricted to 197 all out.

Ronan Herrmann (71 off 124 balls, 7 fours) was the star man for the Johannesburg-based side, but Benkenstein’s two for 32, together with Matthew Boast (3/49) and Colby Dyer (3/25), ground out the win.

Finally, a century by Adam du Plessis proved key in helping the Warriors beat the Knights at Maties D Field.

After winning the toss and batting, the Eastern Cape franchise amassed 283 for five with the wicketkeeper crunching 141 off 148 balls (12 fours, 3 sixes). Jade Smith was also amongst the runs with 55 (78 balls, 6 fours, 1 six).

 Lihle Sizani (3/38) together with Aphiwe Mnyanda (2/11) and Adam Richards (2/21) did the bulk of the damage to leave the Knights all out for 196 in 46.3 overs. Stefan Nel finished as the top-scorer, but his score of 59 off 73 balls (8 fours, 1 six) lacked support in a poor effort for the Central Franchise.

The top performers of the past week now have a chance of being named in the SA Under-19 squad, which will be named in the coming days.

For all scorecards and to watch highlights from the U19 Franchise Cubs Week in Stellenbosch, visit


HOLLYWOODBETS DOLPHINS CUBS: Slade van Staden (KZN Inland), Nicholas Hatton (KZN Inland), Andile Simelane (KZN Inland), Luc Bekenstein (KZN Inland), Keagan Crawford (KZN Inland), Matthew Boast (KZN Inland), Sanele Mbatha (KZN Inland), Colbe Dyer (KZN Inland), Chad Laycock (KZN Coastal), Ronan Vardaya (KZN Coastal), Thulani Cheliza (KZN Coastal), Joshua Stride (KZN Coastal),  Banele Cele (KZN Coastal), Andile Wanda (KZN Coastal).

IMPERIAL LIONS CUBS: Phemelo Sepathi (North West), Liam McCarthy (GCL), Heinrigh Pieterse (GCL), Taheer Isaacs (GCL), Gerard Coetzee (GCL), Michael Copeland (GCL), Caleb Seleka (North-West), Nkhanyiso Mkhize (GCL), Simo Potelwa (GCL), Zack Momberg (GCL), Liam Alder (GCL), Ronan Herrmann (GCL), Reuben du Toit (GCL), Samuel Ruwisi (GCL).

MOMENTUM MULTIPLY TITANS CUBS: Om Thakkar (Northerns), Jordan Hermann (Northerns), Zeeshan Ismail (Northerns), Kagiso Ngwenya (Northerns), Akhulile Makatu (Mpumalanga), Jan Hendrik (Hardus) Coetzer (Northerns), Khayalethu (Khaya) Nyamathe (Easterns), Christiaan Daniels (Northerns), Ryan Maxl (Easterns), Selo (Valentine) Kitime (Northerns), Dewald Brevis (Northerns), Jabulani Nkosi (Northerns), Khaif Patel (Limpopo), Nathan Steyn (Easterns).

SIX GUN GRILL CAPE COBRAS CUBS: Daniel Smith (Western Province), Ethan Cunningham (Western Province), Kai Curran (Western Province), Siyambonga Nyawose (Western Province), Dewald Grove (Boland), Kamvelethu Feni (South Western Districts), Michael Levitt (Western Province), Nicholas Keevy (Boland), Kaden Solomon (Western Province), Nathan Jacobs (Boland), Darian Naidoo (Western Province), Ayabonga Ngondo (South Western Districts), Salmaan Ajam (Western Province), Asakhe Tsaka (Western Province).

WARRIORS CUBS: Adam du Plessis, Jade Smith, Ziphozinhle Ruiters, George van Heerden, Sonwabiso Tshona, Garwin Dampies, Ethan Frosler, Adam Richards, Lihle Sizani, Matt Fourie, Joshua Stevenson, Eli Thorne, Hlonela Bune, Aphiwe Mnyanda.

VKB KNIGHTS CUBS: JD Bruwer (Free State), Yusuf Suliman (Northern Cape), Reeza Alexander (Free State), Boitumelo Melesi (Northern Cape), Gerrit Badenhorst (Free State), Lerato Nqoyi (Free State), Mvula Chabalala (Free State), Matthew Davids (Free State), Mbongi Mhlanga (Free State), Marco Fouche (Free State), Zander Rasmussen (Free State), Liam Doherty (Free State), Sello Sesing (Free State), GJ Maree (Free State).