Sinalo Jafta awarded national contract

Sinalo Jafta awarded national contract

SINALO JAFTA’S selection for the final T20 International for the Proteas against India on the current tour has seen her qualify on the threshold for Nationally Contracted players for the 2019/20 season. She thus becomes the 15th Protea on a national contract.

“Congratulations to Sinalo on her upgrade to a national contract following her consistent selection and performance for the Proteas this year to achieve the necessary threshold,” commented CSA Acting Director of Cricket Corrie van Zyl. “The contract will apply retrospectively back to May 1 2019 and will run until April 30 2020.

“We have introduced this change to assist in the retention of talent and the objective of creating parity within women’s cricket. This is an important step forward as we strive for gender equality as far as cricket is concerned.

“I am sure this will encourage all our provincial players in the knowledge that national contracts are within reach via performance,” concluded Van Zyl.

CSA contracted Proteas women’s players: Trisha Chetty (Gauteng), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng), Sinalo Jafta (North West), Sinalo Jafta (WP), Marizanne Kapp (EP), Ayabonga Khaka (Gauteng), Masabata Klaas (North West), Lizelle Lee (North West), Sune Luus (Northerns), Zintle Mali (Border), Raisibe Ntozakhe (Gauteng), Tumi Sekhukhune (Easterns), Chloe Tryon (KZN Coastal), Dane van Niekerk (EP), Laura Wolvaardt (WP).