ACCRA: Team South Africa stands on the brink of glory after captain Nondumiso Shangase and all-rounder Kayla Reyneke shone in the team’s convincing 50-run victory against Uganda in the Women’s T20 Cricket semi-final at the 13th African Games in Accra on Monday.

On the path to the inaugural Games final, South Africa posted 122/4 in their 20 overs, with Player of the Match Shangase contributing a 42-ball 38 and Miané Smit adding 20 off 16 balls. Defending their total, Reyneke’s brilliant bowling performance of three for 13 played a crucial role in restricting Uganda to 72 all-out, securing the result with eight balls to spare.

Uganda won the toss and chose to bowl first in the last four encounter. South Africa started strongly as the opening pair of Faye Tunnicliffe (14) and Annerie Dercksen (14) combined for 27 runs for the first wicket before both batters were dismissed by Concy Aweko (2/27) and Lorna Anyait (1/21) respectively.

After reaching 33/2 at the end of the powerplay, Captain Shangase and Jenna Evans brought calm to the proceedings, guiding Team SA to 52/2 at the halfway mark against measured Ugandan bowling.

In an effort to set an imposing total, Shangase and Evans formed a valuable 44-run partnership before Evans retired hurt on 14* off 26 balls with Team SA on 81/2 after 15 overs.

With South Africa looking dominant, Uganda, through Aweko, picked up the crucial wicket of the dangerous Shangase, resulting in two new batters, Smit (20) and Reyneke (14*), at the crease with the score on 92/3 after 17 overs.

In a free-spirited fashion, Reyneke and Smit powered South Africa into triple figures with a 25-run partnership before Smit fell in the final over to Janet Mbabazi (1/17), concluding Team SA’s innings at a commendable 122/4 after 20 overs.

Defending 123 for victory, South Africa started their bowling innings with a disciplined approach. Uganda lost the early wicket of Immaculate Nakisuuyi (0) in the first over, with Jané Winster (2/12) trapping the opening batter LBW. Uganda ended the powerplay on 27/1, with Esther Iloku and Gloria Obukor (12) stabilizing their innings, still needing 96 runs to advance to the final.

After a solid 31-run partnership for the second wicket between Iloku and Obukor, Reyneke was brought into the attack and struck with her first ball, finding the slightest edge of Obukor’s bat with wicketkeeper Karabo Meso taking a smart catch behind the stumps.

In a sublime introduction, Reyneke added two more wickets in her first over, removing Mbabazi (0) with Tunnicliffe taking a diving catch, and providing an LBW to dismiss Stephani Nampiina (0) to complete a three-wicket maiden, leaving Uganda 32/4 after eight overs.

After reaching the 10th over on 35/4, with 88 runs still required, things went from bad to worse for Uganda as Seshnie Naidu (1/9), the Player of the Match in Team SA’s previous match against Nigeria, joined the party, removing Iloku for a top-score of 19 off 33 balls.

Uganda lost three more wickets rapidly as a clinical run-out by Naidu dismissed Kevin Awino (6), and two wickets from Shangase (2/15) saw Rita Musamali (6) and Sarah Walaza (0) dismissed, to see the Ugandans 52/8 after 15 overs, needing 71 runs from the remaining 30 balls.

Despite some late action with Phiona Kulume (12) and Aweko (5) in the middle, another run-out and a second wicket for Winster brought the contest to an end as Team SA secured a comprehensive 50-run win and advanced to the Gold medal match at the African Games.

South Africa will face the winners of the second semi-final between Zimbabwe and Nigeria in the final on Wednesday, March 13, at 13h50 local time (15h50 SAST).

Team SA – Women’s T20 Cricket Squad: 2023 African Games in Accra, Ghana

Nondumiso Shangase (Captain) (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Nobulumko Baneti (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Jemma Botha (Western Province), Annerie Dercksen (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Jenna Evans (DP World Lions), Gandhi Jafta (Fidelity Titans), Leah Jones (Western Province), Simone Lourens (Fidelity Titans), Karabo Meso (DP World Lions), Seshnie Naidu (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Kayla Reyneke (Western Province), Miané Smit (Recon Tactical Free State), Faye Tunnicliffe (Western Province), Jané Winster (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Caitlin Wyngaard (Western Province)



Dinesha Devnarain (Head Coach), Claire Terblanche (Assistant Coach), Marcia Matshipi Letsoalo (Team Manager), Gabi-Lee van der Westhuizen (Strength and Conditioning), Esther Bengu (Physiotherapist)


Game 1: 

Namibia beat South Africa by 1 run (DLS) 

Namibia: 89/7 after 20 overs; W. Mwatile 37 (41), E. van Zyl 19 (17); J. Botha 2/9, J. Winster 2/17

South Africa: 29/4 after 6 overs; M. Smit 12*, J. Botha 5 (7); K. Green 3/6, W. Mwatile 1/7

Game 2:

South Africa beat Tanzania by 8 wickets 

Tanzania: 66 all out after 18.3 overs; T. Omary 9 (10),  H. Omary 9 (15); N. Shangase 5/13, L. Jones ⅖

South Africa: 67/2 after 10.2 overs; F. Tunnicliffe 29* (27), J. Botha 28 (26); A. Mohamed 1/12, A. Qwele 1/19

Game 3: 

South Africa beat Nigeria by 4 wickets

Nigeria: 74 all out after 18.4 overs; F. Eseigbe 17 (28), P. Agboya 15 (20); S. Naidu 4/13, K. Reyneke 3/12

South Africa: 78/6 after 14.5 overs; F. Tunnifcliffe 45 (34), M. Smit 10* (15); L. Udeh 5/18, U. Peace 1/15


South Africa beat Uganda by 50 runs

South Africa: 122/4 after 20 overs; N. Shangase 38 (42), M. Smit 20 (16); C. Aweko 2/27, J. Mbabazi 1/17

Uganda: 72 all out after 18.4 overs; E. Iloku 19 (33), P. Kulume 12 (9); K. Reyneke 3/13, J. Winster 2/12



Women’s T20 Cricket

Wednesday, 13 March 

Bronze Medal:  Uganda vs Loser of Semi-final 2 @ 09h30 local time

Gold Medal: South Africa vs Winner of Semi-final 1  @ 13h50 local time

For media inquiries, please contact:

Lita Gqirana – Proteas Women Media Specialist 

Cell.: (+27) 76 503 9655



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for

the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.