ONTEIN: Dane Paterson picked up three wickets late in the day to secure South Africa A (SA ‘A’) a 76-run win over West Indies A on the last day of the third four-day match at the Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein on Friday.

The result sealed the tour 2-1 as the hosts came from behind after losing the opening fixture in Benoni.

Paterson (4/66) – with a combined tally of eight wickets in the match – was ably supported by all-rounder Ruan de Swardt (2/45) in pursuit of victory.

The visitors put up a fight on the final day, with Joshua da Silva playing a captain’s knock of 110 off 138 balls (8 fours and 2 sixes). Kirk McKenzie also struck a 94-ball 81.

Having resumed on 47/1 and another 374 runs required, McKenzie and Tagenarine Chanderpaul (31) got stuck into the task at hand with a second-wicket partnership of 112 runs before the pair departed in the space of six balls – Duanne Olivier (1/86) and de Swardt working in tandem to remove the overnight duo.

Four overs later, Hardus Viljoen (1/74) added one to his wickets column with Jordan Johnson (9) caught behind.

That brought Da Silva to the crease, and together with Kavem Hodge (47), the pair put on a significant 84-run stand before de Swardt’s first over after lunch brought the breakthrough. Neil Brand claimed a sharp catch at extra cover to see the back of the latter.

The hosts had to wait until after tea to get their next wicket, as Kevin Sinclair (23) attempted to go after Brand (1/32) but instead heaved the ball straight to Khaya Zondo at mid-wicket.

With the score 291/6 and 130 runs still required, Paterson struck twice in as many overs.

First, he wrapped Akeem Jordan (13) on the pads leg before wicket. Zubayr Hamza then held on at second slip to dismiss Shamar Joseph for nought.

Da Silva and Shermon Lewis (3*) added 47 for the final wicket – da Silva with 44 of those runs – before the former finally fell. The right-hander, who scored his first fifty off 71 balls and his second off 62 balls, faced just five more deliveries after reaching his ton before Paterson got the prized wicket and with it the win.


South Africa A squad against West Indies A

Neil Brand (Momentum Multiply Titans, captain), David Bedingham (Western Province), Ruan de Swardt (North West Dragons), Tony de Zorzi (Western Province), Clyde Fortuin (Gbets Rocks), Zubayr Hamza (DP World Lions), Tshepo Moreki (DP World Lions), Mihlali Mpongwana (Western Province), Duanne Olivier (DP World Lions), Dane Paterson (Western Province), Keegan Petersen (Gbets Rocks), Dane Piedt (ITEC Knights), Raynard van Tonder (North West Dragons), Hardus Viljoen (Gbets Rocks) and Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins).


Tour itinerary

21 – 24 November at 10:00 

South Africa A lost to West Indies A by 1 wicket – Willowmoore Park in Benoni

28 November – 01 December at 10:00

South Africa A best West Indies A  by 232 runs – Buffalo Park in East London

05 – 08 December at 10:00

South Africa A beat West Indies A by 76 runs – Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein


Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications 


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.