ADELAIDE: The Proteas are out of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup after suffering an embarrassing 13-run defeat to the Netherlands in Adelaide on Sunday.

Needing to win to reach the semi-finals, the South Africans conceded a competitive 158 for four after winning the toss and opting to bowl first. The response was a difficult one in which they lost wickets regularly to eventually end on 145 for eight. That left them well short as the Dutch secured a first-ever win against the Proteas in any format of the game, together with the biggest shock of the World Cup.

It was a forgettable performance for Temba Bavuma and his side in a match that was described as a quarter-final 24 hours earlier by all-rounder Wayne Parnell. That meant there was no room for error as the South Africans knew that only victory will secure them a ticket into the last four of the competition.

Bavuma and Quinton de Kock were slow out of the blocks returning run-a-ball efforts of 20 and 13 respectively as the South Africans stumbled to 39 for two at the end of the powerplay. Rilee Rossouw (25) was more attacking alongside Markram (17), but both departed before the 100 was raised, adding pressure on the middle and lower order.

Possibly the turning point if the match was early in the 16th over when Roelof van der Merwe claimed a stunning catch to dismiss David Miller for 17. The former Protea, who played for South Africa at the T20 World Cups in 2009 and 2010, sprinted back from short fine leg to square leg all the time looking upwards at the ball before throwing himself low to take the catch centimeters above the ground.

At that stage 47 were required off 29 balls but that strike proved key for the Dutch. The chase then faded badly from there as scoreboard pressure told and South Africa limped to a forgettable 145 for eight in what was Mark Boucher’s final match as coach.

South Africa squad – ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Australia 2022

Temba Bavuma (captain, DP World Lions), Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Reeza Hendricks (DP World Lions), Marco Jansen (Gbets Warriors), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Anrich Nortje (Gbets Warriors), Wayne Parnell (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions), Rilee Rossouw (ITEC Knights), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tristan Stubbs (Gbets Warriors).

South Africa Group Stage Itinerary


Monday, 24 October – 19:00 (10:00 SAST) 

South Africa vs Zimbabwe ended in a no result – Bellerive Oval, Hobart

Thursday, 27 October – 14:00 (05:00 SAST) 

South Africa beat Bangladesh by 104 runs – SCG, Sydney

Sunday, 30 October – 19:00 (13:00 SAST) 

South Africa beat India by five wickets – Perth Stadium, Perth

Thursday, 03 November – 19:00 (10:00 SAST) 

Pakistan beat South Africa by 33 runs on the DLS Method – SCG, Sydney

Sunday, 06 November – 10:30 (02:00 SAST) 

Netherlands beat South Africa by 13 runs – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide


Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres