Proteas Men’s Squad Announced For Test Series Against West Indies

Proteas Men’s Squad Announced For Test Series Against West Indies

JOHANNESBURG: Red-ball head coach Shukri Conrad has today named a 16-player squad for the two-match Test series against West Indies, which starts on 07 August in Trinidad and Tobago.

Dafabet Warriors batter Matthew Breetzke has received his maiden Test call-up after impressing in last season’s domestic four-day competition with 322 runs at an average of 46, including a top score of 188. The Warriors captain also lead South Africa A in a four-day match against India A in December.

Wicket-keeper batter Ryan Rickelton makes his return to the red-ball setup for the first time since South Africa hosted the West Indies in March 2023.

All-rounder Marco Jansen has been rested for the series.

The two-match Test series, which is part of the ICC World Test Championship, will be South Africa’s first in the Caribbean since June 2021, which saw them claim a 2-0 series win over the hosts.

Commenting on the squad, Conrad said: “We are looking forward to returning to Test cricket after a busy period of limited-overs cricket over the past few months.

This tour is extremely important for us as we aim to improve our standing in the ICC World Test Championship. We have therefore selected our strongest possible squad and look forward to strong performances in the Caribbean.

We have one new face in the squad, Matthew Breetzke, who is selected on the back of an excellent past season.

The decision to rest Marco Jansen was taken to allow for a conditioning period aimed at ensuring optimal physical and mental well-being given the season-long workloads.

“Half of our squad will be part of a camp to be held in Durban next week,” concluded Conrad.

Proteas Test squad against West Indies
Temba Bavuma (captain, DP World Lions), David Bedingham (World Sports Betting Western Province), Matthew Breetzke (Dafabet Warriors), Nandre Burger (World Sports Betting Western Province), Gerald Coetzee (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tony de Zorzi (World Sports Betting Western Province), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), Wiaan Mulder (DP World Lions), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Dane Paterson (World Sports Betting Western Province), Dane Piedt (Knights), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions), Tristan Stubbs (Dafabet Warriors), Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions), and Kyle Verreynne (World Sports Betting Western Province).

These players will attend a red-ball camp from 15 – 19 July in Durban.

The squad will get together in Trinidad and Tobago on 27 July. Players competing in the Major League Cricket final on 28 July will join the squad on 29 July.

Tour Itinerary
Warm-up Match
31 July – 03 August at 10:00 local time
West Indies Invitational XI vs South Africa – Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad and Tobago
Test Series
07 – 11 August at 10:00 local time
West Indies vs South Africa – Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad and Tobago
15 – 19 August at 10:00 local time
West Indies vs South Africa – Guyana National Stadium, Guyana

Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications

Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.