SA speedster Dale Steyn signs up for Euro T20 Slam

Thu, 04th July 2019
Standard Bank Proteas bowler Dale Steyn

Standard Bank Proteas bowler Dale Steyn

Proteas fast bowler Dale Steyn has signed up for the inaugural season of the Euro T20 Slam.

The veteran, who was withdrawn from the South African ICC Cricket World Cup squad due to injury, he will feature as one of the league’s ‘marquee’ players, joining six others to have received the honour.

The other marquee players are Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi and Babar Azam, Shane Watson and Chris Lynn from Australia, and New Zealanders Brendon McCullum and Luke Ronchi.

The league is also set to feature the likes of JP Duminy and Imran Tahir, Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan, and England ODI captain Eoin Morgan.

The Euro T20 Slam will be jointly hosted by the cricket boards of Ireland, Netherlands and Scotland, with each country being represented by two franchises, making for a total of six teams in the competition.

The tournament is set to kick off on August 30, with 33 matches scheduled to be played, before concluding on September 22.