Batsmen continue to dominate proceedings in SA ‘A’ warm-up

Zubayr Hamza in action for the South Africa A team.

Zubayr Hamza in action for the South Africa A team.

It was another difficult outing for the bowlers on Day Two of the three-day warm-up encounter between the Indian Board President’s XI and South Africa ‘A’ in Bengaluru on Tuesday. With only four wickets falling in unfavourable bowling conditions, the batsmen from the respective teams scored at a healthy rate as the hosts ended on 201/2 after 45 overs in their first innings.

With overnight batsman Zubayr Hamza (104) retiring not-out, the visitors resumed the day’s action on 389/2 as Senuran Muthusamy joined Rassie van der Dussen at the crease. The duo could only add a further seven runs before van der Dussen was dismissed for 39 (68 balls, 6 fours).

That dismissal brought wicket-keeper/batsman Rudi Second out to the middle. The right-hander combined with Muthusamy to record a 77-run partnership for the sixth wicket, before the latter became the fourth wicket to fall, trapped LBW on 31 (69 balls, 4 fours) as the tourists declared on a daunting 473/4 after 115.1 overs. Second returned unbeaten on 44 (off 73 balls, 7 fours).

Jalaj Saxena (2/54), Dharmendrasinh Jajeda (1/65) and Atit Sheth (1/69) were the pick of the bowlers for the home side.

It was more hard work for the bowlers in the hosts’ innings as openers Abhimanyu Easwaran and Sanjay Ramaswamy put on a 59-run partnership before it was broken by Malusi Siboto (1/13) who removed Easwaran for 33 (48 balls, 6 fours).

Ramaswamy forged ahead and went on to reach his eighth First-Class fifty. Partnered up with Dhruv Shorey, the duo absorbed the pressure, bringing up a 100-run partnership for the second wicket. Shorey also recorded his eighth half-century in the process. Ramaswamy looked to be heading towards a deserved century before the experienced Shaun von Berg (1/37) finally broke the deadlock, dismissing him 13 runs short of his ton (87 off 113 deliveries, 17 fours, 1 six).

Shorey (67*) and Ricky Bhui (3*) managed to guide their side to stumps without a further loss of wickets, as they look to continue to eat away at the 272-run lead.

SA A squad (to play in four-day series against India A): Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins, capt), Sarel Erwee (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Zubayr Hamza (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Beuran Hendricks (bizhub Highveld Lions), Pieter Malan (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Senuran Muthusamy (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Mthiwekhaya Nabe (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Duanne Olivier (VKB Knights), Dane Piedt (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Dwaine Pretorius (bizhub Highveld Lions), Rudi Second (VKB Knights), Rassie van der Dussen (bizhub Highveld Lions), Malusi Siboto (bizhub Highveld Lions), Shaun von Berg (Multiply Titans).

SA A Tour to India Itinerary 2018

Four-Day Test Series

July 30-August 1: three-day practice match, Bangaluru

August 4-7: 1st four-day Test match v India A, Bangaluru

August 10-13: 2nd four-day Test match v India A, Bangaluru