Momentum Proteas COVID-19 Test Results

Momentum Proteas COVID-19 Test Results

Cricket South Africa (CSA) can confirm that 34 COVID-19 tests were conducted on the Momentum Proteas Women’s National High-Performance squad and support staff ahead of their first training camp, starting on Monday 27 July at the Powerade High Performance Centre in Pretoria.

We can confirm that three people have tested positive. The players and support staff that have tested positive will now self-isolate for a period of 10 days and will take no part in the training camp. They have nil to mild symptoms as our medical team continue to closely monitor them in accordance with CSA’s COVID-19 Steering Committee protocols to ensure their well-being. The players’ return to train and play program will be guided by the CSA Medical Committee’s protocols.

Those who tested negative will convene in Pretoria on Sunday for a week-long skills-based training camp before returning to their respective provinces for individual training from 3 – 14 August.

The squad and support staff will undergo a second round of testing in preparation for the second training camp, which gets underway from 16 – 27 August, ahead of the proposed tour of England in September.

Training schedule

First training camp

Date: 26 – 31 July

Venue: High Performance Centre, Pretoria

Individual training

Date: 3 – 14 August

Venue: Nationwide at respective provinces

Second training camp

Date: 16 – 27 August

Venue: High Performance Centre, Pretoria


Dané van Niekerk (Eastern Province), Lizelle Lee (North-West), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Suné Luus (Northerns), Chloe Tryon (KZN Coastal), Shabnim Ismail (KZN Coastal), Ayabonga Khaka (Gauteng), Maria Klaas (North West), Trisha Chetty (KZN Coastal), Sinalo Jafta (Western Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province), Tumi Sekhukhune (North West), Nadine de Klerk (Western Province), Nonkululeko Mlaba (KZN Coastal), Nondumiso Shangase (KZN Coastal), Faye Tunnicliffe (Western Province), Zintle Mali (Border), Raisibe Ntozakhe (Gauteng), Lara Goodall (Western Province), Anneke Bosch (North West), Tazmin Brits (North West), Robyn Searle (Northerns), Andrie Steyn (Western Province).