LUCKNOW: Unbeaten half centuries from David Miller and Heinrich Klaasen helped the Proteas go 1-0 up in their three-match One-Day International (ODI) series against India with a tense nine-run win at the BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow on Thursday.

Batting first in a match reduced to 40 overs per side on account of the rainy conditions, South Africa posted a strong 249 for four. Miller and Klaasen were the main contributors with 75 (63 balls, 5 fours, 3 sixes) and 74 (65 balls, 6 fours, 2 sixes) respectively – the pair sharing an unbroken 139 together.

In reply, the Proteas claimed four early wickets, including a 50th ODI scalp for the expensive Tabraiz Shamsi, who endured a difficult evening where he took one for 89 in eight overs. Sanju Samson’s career-best 86 not out (63 balls, 9 fours, 3 sixes) almost dragged the hosts over the line before they fell just short on 240 for eight.

Holding on for the win was important in more than one way for the South Africans as it also earned them a priceless 10 points on the ICC World Cup Super League table, the qualifying tournament for the 2023 finals in India next year.

Heavy overnight rain and more wet conditions on matchday had threatened the prospect of any play in match one. But the clouds lifted sufficiently for a delayed start, with the home side winning the toss and opting to bowl first.

Openers Janneman Malan (22) and Quinton de Kock (48) put on 49 for the first wicket, before the away side lost three quick wickets within the space 3.5 overs.

Malan was first to go followed by captain Temba Bavuma (8) and Aiden Markram for a duck.

Wicketkeeper De Kock added 39 alongside Klaasen for the fourth wicket before he too departed leaving South Africa in some danger on 110 for four.

But Klaasen kept going, and along with Miller, bolstered their side to a more than useful target of 250 at a required rate of 6.22 runs per over.

India’s batting threatened to implode after a strong start with the ball by the Proteas. The excellent Kagiso Rabada (2/36) cleaned up Shubman Gill (3) in the third over, with equally accurate Wayne Parnell (1/38) doing the same to skipper Shikhar Dhawan (4).

Shamsi had Ruturaj Gaikwad stumped for 19, and when the exceptional Keshav Maharaj dismissed Ishan Kishan for 20, India were reeling on 51 for four in the 18th over.

Shreyas Iyer (50 off 37 balls, 8 fours) helped Samson rebuild by tucking into Shamsi and once he fell, Shardul Thakur (33) continued the same momentum to give their side outside hope. But with the asking rate climbing, the South Africans managed to hold out and seal an important win.

South Africa ODI squad against India

Temba Bavuma (captain, DP World Lions), Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Reeza Hendricks (DP World Lions), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Janneman Malan (Gbets Rocks), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Anrich Nortje (Gbets Warriors), Wayne Parnell (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Andile Phehlukwayo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Dwaine Pretorius (North West Dragons), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans).

South Africa ODI Tour to India Itinerary (all times local)

Thursday, 6 October at 13:30 

India lost to South Africa by nine runs – Lucknow

Sunday, 9 October at 13:30

India vs South Africa – Ranchi

Tuesday, 11 October at 13:30

India vs South Africa – Delhi


Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres