RANCHI: Reeza Hendricks and Aiden Markram both struck half centuries but they were not enough as the Proteas slipped to a seven-wicket defeat to India in the second One-Day International (ODI) at the JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi on Sunday.

Batting at three, Hendricks – in the team after captain Temba Bavuma had taken ill before the game – recorded an impressive 74 off 76 balls (9 fours, 1 six) with number four Markram top-scoring with 79 (89 balls, 7 fours, 1 six).

The pair shared in a crucial 129-run third-wicket stand that propelled the visitors to what looked a challenging 278 for seven.

But the hosts were rarely troubled in reply, and lead by an unbeaten Shreyas Iyer century, they cruised home with more than four overs to spare.

The result ensured the three-match series was now level at 1-1 and will go down to a decider in Delhi on Tuesday.

The South Africans will be unhappy with their showing, but they had to overcome the last-minute withdrawal of their leader Bavuma due to a mild infection. They were also without spinner Tabraiz Shamsi for the same reason whilst Lungi Ngidi was rested. Hendricks, Bjorn Fortuin and Anrich Nortje were the three players to come into the XI.

After winning the toss and batting, stand-in skipper Keshav Maharaj saw key opener Quinton de Kock fall early for five when he was bowled by the game’s outstanding bowler Mohammed Siraj (3/38). Janneman Malan again showed promise in a 31-ball 25 but fell leg before wicket to debutant Shahbaz Ahmed with the score on 40.

The Markram-Hendricks stand then calmed nerves with the latter going on to record his fourth ODI half century before being taken out by Siraj.

A stand of 46 followed between Markram and Heinrich Klaasen (30), who was next to go in the 38th over with the total on 215. At that stage 300 still looked on, but there from there the South Africans faded.

The former, after posting his fifth ODI 50, was out on the same score and despite the efforts of David Miller (35 not out), the tourists could only muster a target of 279.

India lost their captain Shikhar Dhawan (13) and Shubman Gill (28) to Wayne Parnell (1/44) and Kagiso Rabada (1/59) respectively by the ninth over, but from there Iyer (113 off 111 balls, 15 fours) and Ishan Kishan (93 off 84 balls, 4 fours, 7 sixes) dominated. They took their side from 48 for two to 209 for two, leaving the Indians in a comfortable position with more than 15 overs to play.

Fortuin (1/52) finally broke a partnership that had yielded 161, but Sanju Samson (30 not out) and Iyer ensured there were no further blips as the home side reached their target with 25 balls to spare.

South Africa ODI squad against India 

Temba Bavuma (captain, DP World Lions), Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Bjorn Fortuin (DP World Lions), Reeza Hendricks (DP World Lions), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Janneman Malan (Gbets Rocks), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Anrich Nortje (Gbets Warriors), Wayne Parnell (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Andile Phehlukwayo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Dwaine Pretorius (North West Dragons), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions), Rilee Rossouw (ITEC Knights), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tristan Stubbs (Gbets Warriors).

Thursday, 6 October at 13:30  

India lost to South Africa by nine runs – Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow

Sunday, 9 October at 13:30  

India beat South Africa by seven wickets – JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi   

Tuesday, 11 October at 13:30  

India vs South Africa – Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.