JOHANNESBURG: DP World Lions and Six Gun Grill Western Province went head-to-head at Newlands as the race to the Cricket South Africa (CSA) 1-Day Cup final continued on Sunday.

The defending champions maintained their winning streak and secured a four-wicket victory to remain the only unbeaten side in the tournament thus far.

With the target set to 218 runs, the visitors comfortably paced their chase thanks to a 104-run partnership from Dominic Hendricks (80) and Mitchell van Buuren (54) which saw Lions end the innings on 219/6.

Tshepo Moreki (4/43) gave the Lions batters a hard time, adding the above duo to the dismissals of Reeza Hendricks (24) and Wandile Makwetu (4).

Wiaan Mulder (24*) was unbeaten whilst Joshua Richards (6) and Ryan Rickelton (12) fell to Beuran Hendricks and Nandre Burger, respectively.

Earlier, the hosts were bowled for 217 as Lutho Sipamla (3/35) and Mulder (2/39) led the bowling attack.

Edward Moore (59) delivered another half century in the tournament, and other contributors were Wayne Parnell and Beuran Hendricks with 21 runs each and Jonathan Bird’s 20 runs.

In Potchefstroom, North West Dragons upset their visitors, Momentum Multiply Titans to secure a convincing six-wicket win.

After opting to bat first, the visitors posted 225/9 in their allotted 50 overs, with an unbeaten 96* off 88 from Danovon Ferreira and 39 runs from Dewald Brevis.

Dwaine Pretorius led the attack for the hosts, returning 3/22 in ten overs. Pretorius saw off Brevis, Sibonelo Makhanya with three runs and Dayyaan Galiem for none.

Kerwin Mungroo also registered three scalps with the dismissals of Musawenkosi Twala (5), Ayabulela Gqamane (7) and Aaron phangiso (4).

Shaylin Pillay anchored the Dragons’ response with an unbeaten 85* as his 98-run partnership with Senuran Muthusamy (43*) took the hosts over the line.

Lesego Senokwane (40) fell to Tabraiz Shamsi in the 12th over, and Phangiso (2/35) followed with the wickets of Grant Mokoena (18) and Heino Kuhn for one. Junior Dala dismissed Chris Britz (23) and Dragons were 226/4 in 45.5 overs, winning the game by six wickets.

In Gqeberha, Dafabet Warriors were put to the bat first by the Gbets Rocks at St George’s Park.

Jordan Hermann blasted 150 off 160 (15 boundaries and two maximums) to help the hosts post 319/5.

Herman was supported by a half-century from Wihan Lubbe (69) , with other contributions from Matthew Breetzke ((39) and Diego Rosier (28).

Warriors suffered two run-outs and Michael Copeland claimed two wickets for the visitors.

An all round batting effort from the Rocks saw them reach the target eight balls to spare, with major contributions from Christiaan Jonker (70), Janneman Malan (58), Shaun von Berg (58*) and Hardus Viljoen (40).

Ziyaad Abrahams (3/62) and Akhona Mnyaka (2/68)’s efforts were not enough as the visitors finished on 323/8.

With the match reduced to 22 Overs per side due to inclement weather in Durban, ITEC Knights won by 39 against the Hollywoodbets Dolphins.

Knights elected bat first, posting 175/9 in their 22 overs. Raynard van Tonder top-scored with 66* runs, backed by Gihahn Cloete (38).

Andile Phehlukwayo (4/35) and Ottniel Baatman (3/37) were chief destroyers in the Dolphins bowling attack.

The hosts were then restricted to 136 all out thanks to the Knights leading attack from Patrick Kruger (4/25), Aubrey Swanepoel (3/38), and Alfred Mothoa (2/13) and a single scalp from Jacques Snyman.

In Division 2, AET Tuskers won by four-wickets against Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers, whilst Eastern Storm secured a narrow three-run victory against Northern Cape Heat in Benoni. Both games were decided via the Duckworth–Lewis–Stern (DLS) Method.

Upcoming 1DayCup Fixtures: Wednesday, 21 December 2022


Division 1

13h00: Gbets Rocks vs North West Dragons – Boland Park, Paarl

13h00: Dafabet Warriors vs DP World Lions – St George’s Park, Gqeberha

Division 2

10h00: Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers vs Eastern Cape Iinyathi – Recreation Ground, Oudtshoorn

10h00: Limpopo Impalas vs Northern Cape Heat – Polokwane Cricket Club, Polokwane

09h30: Mpumalanga Rhinos vs Eastern Storm – Uplands College, White River


Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.