Lee, Wolvaardt seal first-ever T20 Series win for Momentum Proteas over India

Lee, Wolvaardt seal first-ever T20 Series win for Momentum Proteas over India

LUCKNOW:Attacking half centuries by South Africa’s golden-girls Lizelle Lee and Laura Wolvaardt helped the Momentum Proteas secure their first-ever Twenty20 Series victory over India with a thrilling last-ball win in the second T20 International at the Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow on Sunday.

Opener Lee recorded a swashbuckling 70 off 45 balls (11 fours, 1 six) to lead a big chase of 159, with Wolvaardt, who bats in the middle-order in 20-over cricket, then finishing the job with an unbeaten 53 off 39 balls (7 fours)  – the tourists edging to a six-wicket triumph from the final ball of the innings.

Earlier it was Shafali Verma (47), Harleen Deol (31) and Richa Ghosh (44*) who helped the hosts amass a strong 158 for four after the South Africans won the toss and opted to field first.

But another fine batting effort by the visitors clinched a result that ensured South Africa beat the Indians for the first time in a series in what was their third attempt.

It also meant Hilton Moreeng’s charges had followed up their 4-1 ODI success on the tour earlier this week by moving into an unassailable 2-0 lead with one match to play on Tuesday.

Match two was undoubtedly one of the tightest yet, though, after a good showing with the bat by India.

After losing captain Smriti Mandhana (7) early to Shabnim Ismail (1/31), Verma and Deol put their side in a powerful position with their 79-run second wicket stand.

Both did eventually fall in quick succession to Nonkululeko Mlaba (1/27) and Anneke Bosch (1/26), but Ghosh’s flying 26-ball knock left the home side well-poised at halfway.

Bosch (2), heroine of the first game, then fell early in the chase. But Lee and captain Sune Luus (20) added 58  for the second wicket, with the former following that up by putting on exactly 50 for the next wicket alongside Wolvaardt.

That took South Africa to 116 for three when Lee fell. Mignon du Preez (10) ensured the momentum continued for South Africa as she and Wolvaardt brought the equation down to 19 off 10 balls when she fell.

It was then all about Wolvaardt. She struck Deol for successive boundaries from the last two balls of the 19th over to leave nine from the final over.

After a good start to the over by Arundhati Reddy when only three came from the first four balls, she delivered a crucial no ball that turned the tie back in South Africa’s favour and Wolvaardt swooped to finish the job.

The Momentum Proteas squad: Sune Luus, Ayabonga Khaka, Shabnim Ismail, Laura Wolvaardt, Trisha Chetty, Sinalo Jafta, Tasmin Britz, Marizanne Kapp, Nondumiso Shangase, Lizelle Lee, Anneke Bosch, Faye Tunniclife, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Mignon du Preez, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Tumi Sekhukhune.

Support Staff: Hilton Moreeng (Head Coach), Dillon du Preez (Assistant Coach), Sedibu Mohlaba (Team Manager), Tshegofatso Gaetsewe (Team Doctor), Abram Ramoadi (Performance Analyst), Molebatsi Theletsane (Physiotherapist), Zane Webster (Strength and Conditioning), Koketso Gaofetoge (Media Manager).

Full Tour Schedule:

7 March – 1st ODI – India Women lost to the Momentum Proteas by 8 wickets

9 March – 2nd ODI – India Women beat the Momentum Proteas by 9 wickets

12 March – 3rd ODI – India Women lost to the Momentum Proteas by 6 runs (DLS)

14 March – 4th ODI – India Women lost to the Momentum Proteas by 7 wickets

17 March – 5th ODI – India Women lost to the Momentum Proteas by 5 wickets

20 March – 1st T20I – India Women lost to the Momentum Proteas by 8 wickets

21 March – 2nd T20I – India Women lost to the Momentum Proteas by 6 wickets

23 March – 3rd T20I – India Women v Momentum Proteas