DUBLIN: Captain, Gaby Lewis led from the front with an inspired half-century as Ireland overcame the Momentum Proteas by 10 runs in the first of three T20 Internationals (T20I) at the Pembroke Cricket Club in Dublin on Friday.

Lewis dispatched eight fours on her way to a sixth career fifty, recording 52 off 38 balls, to guide the hosts to a 143 / 7 in their allotted 20 overs despite the best efforts of seamer, Tumi Sekhukhune who bagged career-best figures of 3 / 32. In reply, the Irish side executed their bowling plans well to pick up wickets at regular intervals and restrict South Africa to 133 / 7.

After winning the toss and electing to bowl first, the Proteas Women made an underwhelming start with ball in hand as the opening pair of Lewis and Leah Paul (47 off 42; 6 fours) shot out of the blocks to race to a 50-run stand for the first wicket.

Their partnership was finally ended by some decisive fielding from Tazmin Brits and Sekhukhune who combined well to run out Lewis to leave the home side 98 / 1 in the 13th over. After the breakthrough, South Africa piled on the pressure on the Irish outfit, removing batters, Paul, Mary Waldron (12) and Sophie MacMahon (0) at the expense of just 24 runs.

With two overs to go in the innings, Sekhukhune re-entered the fray to devastating effect as she claimed three scalps in four deliveries, including that of Shauna Kavanagh (11), Arlene Kelly (6) and Georgina Dempsey (0) before Ireland edged past the 140-run mark to post a defendable score.

The other wicket-takers for the Proteas were Nadine de Klerk (1 / 17), Chloé Tryon (1 / 21) and Shabnim Ismail (1 / 25).

With the bat, South Africa struggled to gain the required momentum to chase down the set target, with the visitors rocked early following the departure of opener, Lara Goodall (0) off the first ball of the innings.

As Proteas attempted to get the necessary rhythm with the bat and keep up with the required run rate, Ireland continued to pick up wickets at will despite the batters getting starts, as Brits (10), Laura Wolvaardt (20) and Anneke Bosch (29) failed to kick on at the crease.

A valiant effort from skipper, Suné Luus (23) and Tryon (26) looked to have brought South Africa back into the game late on, with the pair putting on 41 runs for the fifth wicket before Paul (1 / 21) and debutant, Kelly (2 / 25) took the two crucial wickets to all but end the away side’s fortunes.

South Africa were eventually left stranded on 133 / 7 after their 20 overs, with the Irish bowlers sharing the wickets amongst the team to wrap up an outstanding combined effort that sees them clinch only their second win against the Proteas in 11 attempts in the shortest format.

The second T20I gets underway on Monday, 06 June from 16h30 (17h30 SA time) at the Pembroke Cricket Club, with the action streamed live on the DSTV Now App, Channel 247.

Audio and video of the post-match press conference featuring Momentum Proteas captain, Suné Luus can be located here.

Momentum Proteas Squad for Ireland Tour:

Anneke Bosch (Senwes Dragons), Tazmin Brits (Senwes Dragons), Trisha Chetty (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Nadine de Klerk (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Lara Goodall (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Shabnim Ismail (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Ayabonga Khaka (Imperial Lions), Sune Luus (Titans Ladies), Nonkululeko Mlaba (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Raisibe Ntozakhe (Imperial Lions), Tumi Sekhukhune (Imperial Lions), Andrie Steyn (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Chloe Tryon (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Delmi Tucker (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Six Gun Grill Western Province)

Momentum Proteas Tour to Ireland Itinerary:

T20 International Series:

Friday, 03 June – 1st T20I – Ireland vs South Africa (Pembroke, Dublin)

Monday, 06 June – 2nd T20I – Ireland vs South Africa (Pembroke, Dublin)

Wednesday, 08 June – 3rd T20I – Ireland vs South Africa (Pembroke, Dublin)

All T20I matches will start at 16h30 local time (17h30 SA time)

One-Day International Series:

Saturday, 11 June – Ireland vs South Africa (Clontarf, Dublin)

Tuesday, 14 June – Ireland vs South Africa (Clontarf, Dublin)

Friday, 17 June – Ireland vs South Africa (Clontarf¸ Dublin)

All ODI matches will start at 10h45 local time (11h45 SA Time)

For media enquiries, please contact:

Team Media Manager – Lita Gqirana

Cell.: (+27) 76 503 9655



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.