India win second ODI to level series at 1-1

India win second ODI to level series at 1-1

LUCKNOW: A strong all-round performance helped India bounce back from their series-opening defeat against the Momentum Proteas with the comfortable nine-wicket win in the second One-Day International at the Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow on Tuesday.

Jhulan Goswami lead a clinical bowling display by claiming four for 42 as the tourists were bundled out for 157 in 41 overs. Half centuries by Smriti Mandhana (80* off 64 balls, 10 fours, 3 sixes) and Punam Raut (62* off 89 balls, 8 fours) then lead a strong reply as the hosts won with more than 20 overs to spare.

It was a good response by the Indians, especially after they were on the other end of a heavy defeat by the South Africans in match one on Sunday.

They won the toss and batted at the start, with Lizelle Lee (4) and Laura Wolvaardt (9) – the stars in the previous game – out cheaply to Goswami and Mansi Joshi (2/23) respectively.

Lara Goodall (49) and captain Sune Luus (36) then rebuilt nicely with a 60-run third-wicket partnership that took South Africa up to 80 for two in the 21st over.

But things went all wrong from there as Goswami and Rajeshwari Gayakwad (3/37) cut through the middle order and tail, the visitors dismissed with nine overs remaining.

Shabnim Ismail (1/46) did manage to land an early blow when she bowled Jemimah Rodrigues (9), but an unbroken 138-run second-wicket partnership charged India to victory.

The result ended a seven-match winning streak for the Proteas. Match three of the series takes place on Friday.

The Momentum Proteas squad: Sune Luus, Ayabonga Khaka, Shabnim Ismail, Laura Wolvaardt, Trisha Chetty, Sinalo Jafta, Tasmin Britz, Marizanne Kapp, Nondumiso Shangase, Lizelle Lee, Anneke Bosch, Faye Tunniclife, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Mignon du Preez, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Tumi Sekhukhune.

Support Staff: Hilton Moreeng (Head Coach), Dillon du Preez (Assistant Coach), Sedibu Mohlaba (Team Manager), Tshegofatso Gaetsewe (Team Doctor), Abram Ramoadi (Performance Analyst), Molebatsi Theletsane (Physiotherapist), Zane Webster (Strength and Conditioning), Koketso Gaofetoge (Media Manager).

Full Tour Schedule:

07 March – 1st ODI – India Women lost to the Momentum Proteas by 8 wickets

09 March – 2nd ODI – India Women beat the Momentum Proteas by 9 wickets

12 March – 3rd ODI – India Women v Momentum Proteas

14 March – 4th ODI – India Women v Momentum Proteas

17 March – 5th ODI – India Women v Momentum Proteas

20 March – 1st T20I – India Women v Momentum Proteas

21 March – 2nd T20I – India Women v Momentum Proteas

23 March – 3rd T20I – India Women v Momentum Proteas