India A Dominate SA ‘A’ In Benoni

India A Dominate SA ‘A’ In Benoni

BENONI: India A made early inroads to restrict South Africa A (SA ‘A’) to 164/7 on day two of the second four-day match at Willowmoore Park in Benoni on Wednesday.

After day one was abandoned on account of a wet pitch, the visitors won the toss and opted to bowl first under overcast skies as the match finally got underway on the second morning.

There was light drizzle that further delayed the start by just under two hours, but when proceedings got underway Avesh Khan made merry with a return of 3/36 along with a wicket apiece for Axar Patel (1/13), Washington Sundar (1/17) and Navdeep Saini (1/45).

SA ‘A’ opening pair Joshua Richards and Matthew Breetzke put on 17 before the former was caught behind for 13.

Breetzke and Zubayr Hamza then combined to add a further 35 runs before the hosts lost two wickets in quick succession.

First Hamza was runout for 20, before Khaya Zondo was bowled by Khan three balls later for nought.

Proteas batter Ryan Rickelton added six before he was caught behind off Khan.

SA ‘A’ captain Breetzke reached a top score of 36 when he fell to Patel with the score on 106/5.

Sinethemba Qeshile provided some much needed respite with a 77-ball 34 before he became Khan’s third scalp of the innings. Beyers Swanepoel fell soon after to Sundar for 10.

Proteas spinner Bjorn Fortuin (12*) and Duanne Olivier (17*) then guided the home side to the close of play without any further trouble.


South Africa A squad against India A – 2nd Four-day Match

Matthew Breetzke (captain, Dafabet Warriors), Ruan de Swart (North West Dragons), Bjorn Fortuin (DP World Lions), Zubayr Hamza (DP World Lions), Rivaldo Moonsamy (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tshepo Moreki (DP World Lions), Duanne Olivier (DP World Lions), Sinethemba Qeshile (Dafabet Warriors), Joshua Richards (DP World Lions), Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions), Jason Smith (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Johan van Dyk (Northern Cape Heat) and Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins).


Tour itinerary

11 – 14 December at 10:00  

South Africa A vs India A at JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom

Match drawn

26 – 29 December at 10:00 

South Africa A vs India A at Willowmoore Park in Benoni



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications 


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.