JOHANNESBURG: The Northern Cape Heat have successfully defended the Cricket South Africa (CSA) 4-Day Series title after finishing first in Division 2.

Heat were seating comfortably at the top of the log, pending a big win from Eastern Storm that would change the standings.

Storm took on Limpopo Impalas with a chance at winning the title but fell short of the required first innings score of 354 in 100 overs with 24 runs. Their second innings went sideways when Impalas bundled them out for 61 all out.

Thomas Homson (6/10 in 8.1 overs) was the chief destroyer for the hosts, backed by Zakhele Qwabe (3/22). Impalas only needed 55 runs to win the match and secured a five-wicket win.

That meant the Kimberly-based side retains the title and remain champions of the CSA 4-Day Series.

In a low-scoring encounter in Oudtshoorn, Tuskers were put to the bat first and could only score 175 and 152 in their respective innings.

Badgers were also unable to score big runs, restricted to 152 and 132 as Tuskers secured a much-needed 37-run win to end their 4-Day Series campaign in second place.

The Eastern Cape Iinyathi and Mpumalanga Rhinos also ended within three days in the final round of the CSA 4-Day Series.

Chasing a target of 115 runs on day three, Joshua van Heerden (47*) and Jerry Nqolo (42*) took Iinyathi to the target in the first session, at a loss of only two wickets. Iinyathi’s eight-wicket victory placed them third on the CSA 4-Day Series log standings.

Summary of Results, 2022/23 CSA 4-Day Series Division 2: Thurs – Sun: 09 – 12 Mar 23

Limpopo Impalas vs Eastern Storm (Polokwane Cricket Club) – Storm won the toss and elected to bat first

  • Impalas won by 5 wickets
    o Storm: 330/10 – K. Sekhukhune 102 (218), D. Rossouw 80 (143), M. Pearse 50 (44) / Z. Qwabe 5/76, S. Langa 3/48
    o Impalas: 335/10 – M. Venter 138 (351), L. Kaestner 45 (149) / D. Posthumus 4/50, T. Simelane 3/94
    o Storm: 61/10 – T. Hobson 6/10, Z. Qwabe 3/22
    o Impalas: 59/5 – D. Posthumus 3/18

Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers vs AET Tuskers (Recreation Ground) – Badgers won the toss and elected to field first

  • Tuskers won by 37 runs
    o Tuskers: 175/10 – T. Koekemoer 38 (103) /A. Malan 5/38, P. Moletsane 2/15
    o Badgers: 152/10 – B. Capell 63 (186), B. Walters 31 (45) / M. Erlank 4/54, M. Nofal 2/16, S. Tait 2/30
    o Tuskers: 152/10 – M. Erlank 63 (142), Y. Valli 39 (94) / S. Whitehead 7/19
    o Badgers: 138/10 – S. Whitehead 52* (93) / K. Dudgeon 5/30, A. Mhletywa 4/25

Mpumalanga Rhinos vs Eastern Cape Iinyathi (Uplands College) – Rhinos won the toss and elected to bat first

  • Iinyathi won by 8 wickets
    o Rhinos: 256/10 – M. Mayet 102 (167), B. van Niekerk 50 (75), M. Cook 46 (82) / T. Kaber 4/71, J. de Klerk 4/85
    o Iinyathi: 321/10 – N. Yikha 104 (228), J. de Klerk 55 (81) / A. Kock 7/81, L. Pawuli 2/61
    o Rhinos: 180/10 – J. Snyman 53 (59), R. Hermann 34 (33) / J. de Klerk 4/59, T. Kaber 3/48
    o Iinyathi: 118/2 – J. van Heerden 47 (83), M. Nqolo 42 (51)

Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications

Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.