BLOEMFONTEIN: Zubayr Hamza hit an unbeaten century on a rain-affected day three of the third four-day game against West Indies A to put South Africa A (SA ‘A’) on top at the Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein on Thursday.

The 28-year-old struck 110 off 152 balls (12 fours and 1 six) and shared in a partnership of 159 with all-rounder Ruan de Swardt, who hit 86.

SA ‘A’ declared on 272 for five to set the visitors a target of 421, after which West Indies A lost opener Zachary McCaskie (8) to Dane Paterson before reaching stumps on 47/1.

Earlier, Shamar Joseph (5/76) claimed the only two wickets to fall to complete his five-wicket haul.

The right-arm quick struck in the second over of the day when he induced an edge from Khaya Zondo (31) to wicketkeeper Joshua da Silva.

That would prove to be the only wicket to fall in the morning as Hamza and De Swardt took the hosts to lunch with the score on 248/4 – the pair at that stage on 101 and 71 respectively.

Twenty minutes into the break heavy rain and hail fell, subsequently washing out the afternoon session.

When play resumed at 16h00 courtesy of the excellent efforts by the ground staff, De Swardt added 15 more runs to his tally before falling.

Joseph claimed the breakthrough by trapping him leg before to leave the score at 272/5. SA ‘A’ skipper Neil Brand then signalled the declaration.

After the dismissal of McCaskie, Tagenarine Chanderpaul (11*) and Kirk McKenzie (26*) saw out the remaining overs of the penultimate day with all to do heading into the final day of the tour.


South Africa A squad against West Indies A

Neil Brand (Momentum Multiply Titans, captain), David Bedingham (Western Province), Ruan de Swardt (North West Dragons), Tony de Zorzi (Western Province), Clyde Fortuin (Gbets Rocks), Zubayr Hamza (DP World Lions), Tshepo Moreki (DP World Lions), Mihlali Mpongwana (Western Province), Duanne Olivier (DP World Lions), Dane Paterson (Western Province), Keegan Petersen (Gbets Rocks), Dane Piedt (ITEC Knights), Raynard van Tonder (North West Dragons), Hardus Viljoen (Gbets Rocks) and Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins).


Tour itinerary

21 – 24 November at 10:00 

South Africa A lost to West Indies A by 1 wicket – Willowmoore Park in Benoni

28 November – 01 December at 10:00

South Africa A best West Indies A  by 232 runs – Buffalo Park in East London

05 – 08 December at 10:00

South Africa A vs West Indies A – Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications 


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.