JOHANNESBURG: Momentum Multiply Titans claimed a six-wicket victory against Gbets Rocks in the latest round of the Cricket South Africa (CSA) 1 Day Cup competition.

Titans won the toss and opted to bowl first in Paarl. Ayabulela Gqamane (5/31) starred with the ball, claiming five wickets in 8.1 overs.

Gqamane’s fiver included the wickets of Janneman Malan (9), Stiaan van Zyl with none, Clyde Fortuin (15), Ferisco Adams (50), and Hardus Viljoen with four runs.

Adams’ half century, was supported by Michael Copeland (41), Shaun von Berg (34) and Farhaan Behardien (33) as Rocks set the target to 225 runs.

Aiden Markram (90*) and Sibonelo Makhanya (65) anchored the innings for the visitors. The pair combined for 129 runs for the fourth wicket to take the Titans over the line. Markram also shared an unbeaten 68-run partnership with Donavon Ferreira (37*) and the visitors finished the match on 226/4 in just under 41 overs.

Viljoen claimed all four wickets, dismissing Dewald Brevis (10), Jiveshan Pillay (4), Neil Brand (7), and Makhanya.

North West Dragons were put to the bat first by Six Gun Grill Western Province in Newlands as George Linde and Tshepo Moreki spearheaded the attack that restricted the Dragons to 172 all out in less than 46 overs.

Linde (4/34) dismissed Lesego Senokwane (16), Grant Mokoena (7), Chris Britz (30), and Duan Jansen (18).

Moreki returned 3/27 with the wickets of Heino Kuhn (20), Eldred Hawken for one and Renaldo Meyer with three runs as everyone chipped in to set the hosts up for an easy chase.

Kerwin Mungroo (3/36), and Senuran Muthusamy (2/34) did not make it easy for the hosts, taking crucial wickets at regular intervals.

Mungroo dominated the top order, claiming the wickets of Tony de Zorzi (16), Jonathan Bird for four and Daniel Smith for none.

It was contributions from Gavin Kaplan (44) and George Linde (44*) that ensured the hosts claim an important victory over the Dragons.

Mohammad Vallie (21), caught by Jansen off Muthusamy before the latter returned to dismiss Kaplan  in the 24th over.

Hawken and Meyer claimed single scalps as Western Province finished on 173/7 in 43 overs, winning the game by three wickets.

In Division 2, Eastern Cape Iinyathi claimed a 58-run win against Limpopo Impalas on Friday.

On Thursday, Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers won by seven wickets against Eastern Storm whilst AET Tuskers won by 69 runs in their encounter with Northern Cape Heat.

Upcoming 1DayCup Fixtures: Sunday, 11 December 2022


10h00: Six Gun Grill Western Province vs Momentum Multiply Titans-Six Gun Grill Newlands, Cape Town

10h00: ITEC Knights vs Dafabet Warriors – Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein

10h00: North West Dragons vs Hollywoodbets Dolphins – JB Marks Oval, Potchefstroom

10h00: DP World Lions vs Gbets Rocks – DP World Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg (Televised)


Division 2


09h30: AET Tuskers vs Eastern Storm – AET Oval, Pietermaritzburg

09h30: Mpumalanga Rhinos vs Limpopo Impalas – Uplands College, White River


Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.