EAST LONDON: Dane Piedt’s five-for put South Africa A (SA ‘A’) in complete control on day two of the second four-day match against West Indies A at Buffalo Park in East London on Wednesday.

The ITEC Knights spinner claimed five for 28 runs from 12.2 overs with Tshepo Moreki providing excellent support through his three for 66.

Together the pair helped restrict the visitors to 154 all out, handing the home side a first innings lead of 144.

The South Africans, who were earlier bowled out for 298, then reached the close on 65 for one in the Eastern Cape.

They resumed the morning on 266/6 and managed to add only 32 runs for the last four wickets. First up, Shamar Joseph (3/57) added another one to his tally after he bowled overnight batter Mihlali Mpongwana (13).

Akeem Jordan (3/43) then wreaked havoc with the remaining three wickets of Ruan de Swardt (42), Piedt (6) and Moreki (1).

In reply, Dane Paterson (2/28) got the first breakthrough within seven overs by removing Tagenarine Chanderpaul for 3. Moreki then struck at the other end, pinning Kirk McKenzie (7) leg before wicket.

Kavem Hodge (25) and Zachary McCaskie came together to consolidate the innings and managed to put on 52 runs for the third wicket before Piedt broke through the former’s defences to pick up his first of the match.

Paterson saw off top-scorer McCaskie (62 off 95 balls, 12 fours) before Joshua da Silva (7) fell to Piedt.

Moreki then grabbed his second when he had Kevin Sinclair (7) trapped leg before wicket. Two balls later, Piedt claimed his third scalp to take the visitors from 104/2 to 122/7 in the space of 10 overs.

Moreki struck once more by removing Abhijai Mansingh (14), before Piedt wrapped up the tail to celebrate his five-wicket haul.

Despite the early loss of Neil Brand (4), Tony de Zorzi (34*) and Raynard van Tonder (20*) extended SA ‘A’s lead to 209 at the close. View full scorecard here.

South Africa A squad against West Indies A

Neil Brand (Momentum Multiply Titans, captain), David Bedingham (Western Province), Ruan de Swardt (North West Dragons), Tony de Zorzi (Western Province), Clyde Fortuin (Gbets Rocks), Zubayr Hamza (DP World Lions), Tshepo Moreki (DP World Lions), Mihlali Mpongwana (Western Province), Duanne Olivier (DP World Lions), Dane Paterson (Western Province), Keegan Petersen (Gbets Rocks), Dane Piedt (ITEC Knights), Raynard van Tonder (North West Dragons), Hardus Viljoen (Gbets Rocks) and Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins).


Tour itinerary

21 – 24 November at 10:00 

South Africa A lost to West Indies A by 1 wicket – Willowmoore Park in Benoni

28 November – 01 December at 10:00

South Africa A vs West Indies A – Buffalo Park in East London

05 – 08 December at 10:00

South Africa A vs West Indies A – Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications 


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.