POTCHEFSTROOM: The first-ever Cricket South Africa (CSA) T20 Women’s National Championship gets underway in Potchefstroom from 14 – 16 April 2023.

As the legacy of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup continues, six clubs from across the country will compete in the competition. This, after each provincial champion battled it out against their regional counterparts for a spot in the championship.

The competition promises to be nothing short of action, as KZN Coastal’ s Lindelani Cricket Club will see Proteas Women star, Nonkululeko Mlaba, joined by National Academy stars Nondumiso Shangase, Nobulumko Baneti, and Ayanda Hlubi, who was also part of the SA U19 Women’s squad for the inaugural ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup.

The Garden Route Badgers’ Union Stars CC also come with three national academy stars in Micaela Andrews, Mieke De Ridder, and Jane Winster.

CSA’s Senior Cricket Manager, Johan Weyers, said;

“CSA continues to focus on growing the game and increase participation amongst women as a strategic focus area post the successful hosting of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

“This initiative is a celebration of work done by Cricket South Africa and the potential of women’s cricket in the player pathway. The game will continue to grow in years to come as all legacy initiatives aim to broaden the women’s game.

“CSA is equally proud to host the first National Women’s T20 Club Championships for the 6 regional winners and will continue with the commitment to make the game accessible for all who want to play it,” said Weyers.

Below are the six teams that qualified for the CSA T20 Women’s National Championship.

Avion Cricket Club (Easterns): Craig Kayleigh, Reddy Verunissa, Edwards Micaela, Williams Tenique, Coppin Payton, Bentley Leeyandré, Botha Simoné, Swart Danyella, Rudolph Alysia van Eck Adele, Meyer Megan, Meyer Teagan, Phiwokuhle Nene.

Jendamark United Cricket Club (Eastern Province): Adonis Aphilile, Ahmed Suhaa, Dunga Aluncedo, Gana Lunambitho, Gogwana Sinenjabulo, Gqalinyanga Nomava, Koloi Siyamthanda, Mbodla Asanda, Mkele Zandile, Nazo Siphokazi, Ngxande Namhla, Peyi Noxolo, Pienaar Anelisa, Tyesi Siyanda.

Kalahari Eye Warriors(Kew) (Northern Cape): Boitumelo Seikaneng, Nombuso Makatong, Mathapelo Ntsayagae, Tshepang Kilelo, Remoneilwe Gabobonwe, Tlotlego Metlhe, Tshepiso Kilelo, Omolemo Itumeleng, Mandisa Kama, Rethabile Motlhanke, Katlego Vala, Onolo Mosabale, Nonofo Gaolese.

Lindelani Cricket Club (KwaZulu-Natal): Yaka Sbongakonke, Shangase Nondumiso, Shangase Nokulunga, Gasa Olwethu, Mngoma Nonhlanhla, Kawu Esihle, Baneti Nobulumko, Mlaba Nonkululeko, Madlala Sabathile, Kawu Asamkele, Hlubi Ayanda, Busani Nobuhle.

Union Stars Cricket Club (Garden Route Badgers): Andrews Micaela, Strydom Cecilia, Stuurman Kelsey, Ndlovu Judith, Jantjies Jeneviwe, Nyovane Asakhe, De Jonck Faith, De Ridder Mieke, Samson Emmy-Kay, Bantom Francisca, Rabie Marnazelle, Winster Jane, Rhodes Haroline.

Wanderers Women’s Cricket Club (Lions Cricket): GriebMarlene, Booyjens Bianca, Venter Emma, Nkosi Khanyi, Nkosi Busi, Brest Traci, Nong Gontse, Tshabalala Zinthle, Dinna Yashika, Chadwick Kerry, Forbes Gillian, Gear Amy, van der Merwe Lauren.

Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications

Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.