POTCHEFSTROOM: Jean du Plessis’ defiant ton and a career-best knock from Rubin Hermann steered South Africa A (SA ‘A’) to 298/5 on the second day of the first four-day match against India A at the JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom on Tuesday.

Du Plessis impressed with an unbeaten 103 (207 balls, 8 fours and 1 six), while Hermann fell agonisingly five runs short of his maiden first-class century (95 off 146 balls, 15 fours).

The match finally got underway after no play was possible on day one due to rain and a wet outfield, with the hosts opting to bat first after winning the toss.

The visitors struck in just the second over of the day when Vidhwath Kaverappa (1/52) had Cameron Shekleton caught for nought

Yaseen Valli and Hermann combined to add 72 for the second wicket before Sourabh Kumar (3/83) bowled the former through the gate for 16.

His departure brought Du Plessis to the crease, and together with Hermann, the pair played positively for their 84-run partnership. The latter eventually fall after he played one from Kumar straight to Dhruv Jurel at mid-off.

SA ‘A’ captain Bryce Parsons added 24 before he fell to Shardul Thakur (1/33).

Meanwhile, former SA Under-19 batter Du Plessis confidently saw out the Indian attack and brought up his hundred with his eighth boundary of the innings.

Kumar got a late breakthrough as he pinned Connor Esterhuizen (48 off 54 balls, 6 fours and 2 sixes) leg before wicket to bring an end to an entertaining knock.

That left Evan Jones (5*) and du Plessis to face the last two overs of the day.


South Africa A squad against India A – 1st Four-day Match

Bryce Parsons (captain, Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Eathan Bosch (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Junaid Dawood (DP World Lions), Jean du Plessis (Six Gun Grill Gardens Route Badgers), Rubin Hermann (North West Dragons), Connor Esterhuizen (DP World Lions), Evan Jones (DP World Lions), Kurtlyn Mannikam (AET Tuskers), Odirile Modimokoane (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Hlompho Modimokoane (North West Dragons), Siya Plaatjie (Dafabet Warriors), Cameron Shekleton (AET Tuskers) and Yaseen Valli (AET Tuskers).


South Africa A squad against India A – 2nd Four-day Match

Matthew Breetzke (captain, Dafabet Warriors), Bjorn Fortuin (DP World Lions), Zubayr Hamza (DP World Lions), Tshepo Moreki (DP World Lions), Duanne Olivier (DP World Lions), Sinethemba Qeshile (Dafabet Warriors), Josh Richards (DP World Lions), Ryan Rickelton (DP World Lions), Jason Smith (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Johan van Dyk (Northern Cape Heat) and Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins). Players 12 and 13 TBC.


South Africa A tour against India A Itinerary

 11 – 14 December at 10:00  

South Africa A vs India A at JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom

26 – 29 December at 10:00 

South Africa A vs India A at Willowmoore Park in Benoni



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications 


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres