Day 5 Wrap – Lions Crowned Champions Of The CSA Khaya Majola Week 2023

Day 5 Wrap – Lions Crowned Champions Of The CSA Khaya Majola Week 2023

MAKHANDA: Lions Cricket are the undisputed champions of the annual Cricket South Africa (CSA) Khaya Majola Week 2023 that was hosted in Makhanda.

The Lions team defeated Dolphins Cricket by 78 runs in the final of the tournament on Graeme College’s Somerset Field. It was the first time in years that an official champion was crowned.

Lions were the only side that managed to conclude the week with an unbeaten record intact.

They were made to work hard to reach 176 before being bowled out. Their South African U19-player Richard Seletswane (24) with some help from the middle order batsman Henricus Meyer (26) and tailender Kwena Maphaka (24) managed to give their team total a much-needed boost.

Dolphins would’ve felt confident in their run-chase until Romashan Pillay (28) was run-out. The team struggled since he left the crease and were bowled out for 98 runs.

The seam bowler Tjaart Mentz (3/22) and left-handed spin bowler Sipho Potsane (2/8) causing most of the damage. Potsane was named Man-of-the-Match well deservedly after the game.

North West’s left-handed batter Ludwich Schuld (17), couldn’t help his province into the Platinum-section of the Khaya Majola Week but he did manage to add his name to an elite group of batsmen.

Schuld has equalled the record of centuries during a Khaya Majola Week career. He has scored two during this edition against Border and Kei to take his tally to three centuries.

The other three batters who managed to score three centuries during their careers are AB de Villiers (North Gauteng), Pieter Malan (Northerns/Mpumalanga) and Andrea Agathagelou (North West).

Eastern Province and Free State managed to evade relegation to the Gold-section with respective victories over North West (31 runs) and Mpumalanga (148 runs).

Northern Cape’s Simon Liversage (159) managed to end a superb week for himself on a high note. His century helped his side to a comfortable 111-run victory over the Garden Route Badgers.

His innings is the highest ever by a player from the Northern Cape (also previously Griqualand West) at the week and the fifth highest of any batsman at the Khaya Majola Week.

South Africa U19 batter, Dewan Marais (142), also joined the party on the last day with a century against Border.

Kei didn’t experience the best of tournaments, but their spin bowler Esam Mpafi (6/36) have produced a brilliant bowling performance to restrict Limpopo to 110 runs. It was the only five-wicket haul on the closing day.

Kei however still lost after Masoli Moremi (4/13) and Nsuku Mathye (3/7) played a major role in bowling them out for a mere 33 runs.

Summarised Scorecards (Limited Overs): 

Lions 176 (Henricus Meyer 26, Richard Seletswane 24, Kwena Mapakha 24; Buyanda Majola 3/19, Romashan Pillay 2/30, Ntando Soni 2/32); Dolphins 98 (Romashan Pillay 28; Tjaart Mentz 3/22, Sipho Potsane 2/8, Cole Francis 2/12). Lions won by 78 runs.

Titans 184 (Modise Maloka 57*, Tristan Luus 43, Steve Stolk 24; Thabiso Ndlela 3/21, Natanzi Denega 2/30, Cameron Strudwick 2/62); KwaZulu-Natal Inland 169 (Caleb Thomas 50, Ivan Lockem 44, Hernus Marais 4/40, Mohammad Aslam 2/4, Tristan Luus 2/22, William Tshoke 2/51). Titans won by 15 runs.

Boland 133 (Khaya Miselo 39, JJ van der Sandt 20; Raeeq Daniels 3/22); Western Province 136/2 (Joshua Wyngaard 57*, Paul James 43*, Kashief Joseph 20; Cormey van der Watt 1/15). Western Province won by eight wickets.

Eastern Province 232 (Nolan di Poalo 60, Jean Upman 43, Harry van Heerden 37, Sibusiso Mxube 30, Kian Cambier 20; Lung May 2/22, Thuto Matjoi 2/29, Tumelo Makume 2/43); North West 201 (Berno de Klerk 54, Muhammed Bulbalia 45, Marnu Cronjé 21; Hamza Khan 3/34, Matthew Beamish 2/25, Esa Gangat 2/54). Eastern Province won by 31 runs.

Free State 263/9 (Khanyisile Nondwangu 83, Connor Nel 35, Samokelo Lepheto 35*, Juan Viljoen 23; Jayden Meyer 2/13, Dian Eicker 2/44, Davico Kruger 2/46); Mpumalanga 115 (Luke Poisson 33, Davico Kruger 22, Bruce Nel 22; Dakalo Leketa 3/30, Juan Viljoen 2/0, Johnathan Muller 2/18, Samokelo Lepheto 2/25). Free State won by 148 runs. 

Easterns 332/9 (Dewan Marais 142, Sheldon van Wyk 68, Tristan van Schalkwyk 37;

Hlumelo Ntlola 2/58, Amahle Masiko 2/65, Ryan Denston 2/75); Border 210 (Ben van der Merwe 52, Chad Clark-Evans 42*, Extras 27, Amahle Masiko 20*; Tshegofatso Nthare 4/29, Parth Patel 2/46, Dean Hackner 2/48). Easterns won by 131 runs.

Northern Cape 257/8 (Simon Liversage 159, Yazeed Kajee 26*; Sibabalwe Msi 2/17, Charl-Francois Marais 2/29); Garden Route Badgers 147/8 (Stefan May 30, Charl-Francois Marais 22*, Corné Kennedy 22*; Monnapule Jansen 4/26, Yazeed Kajee 2/19). Northern Cape won by 111 runs (D/L-method).

Limpopo 110 (Ruben Vosloo 25; Esam Mpafa 6/36, Melusi Mqabashe 2/13); Kei 33 (Masoli Moremi 4/13, Nsuku Mathye 3/7). Limpopo won by 77 runs.

For Media Enquiries, please contact Alungile Nyakambi on or 084 204 3689.



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.