MAKHANDA: Last year’s unofficial champions of the Cricket South Africa (CSA) Khaya Majola Week, Western Province, is out of the race to claim the first official title in years.

Titans Cricket defeated Western Province by 16 runs in a closely contested match on the third day of the tournament. Not even a century by Benni Hansen (114*) could save their day and tournament.

Hansen has had a superb week thus far and without a doubt would’ve made the SA Schools selectors take notice.

Titans’ pace merchants, Hernus Marais (4/18) and Tristan Luus (2/41) caused Western Province’s batsmen some problems.

Titans will face the early favourites to be crowned champions, Lions Cricket, in the semi-final on the fourth day. KwaZulu-Natal and KZN Inland will battle it out in the other semi-final for a spot in the final.

Western Province will face Free State in their next match. The loser will play in a promotion/relegation match on the final day of the tournament.

The Free State and the hosts, Eastern Province, will be searching for their first victory in Makhanda.

Lions had to work hard to defeat KZN Inland by 29 runs to top their pool. Ross Boast (2/30) showed his class and had the Lions with their backs against the wall at 35/3 after his first spell.

Luke Francis (73) and Henricus Meyer (41) had to bat their team out of trouble.

North West’s Ludwich Schuld (117*) also made sure with his second century of the week that the selectors didn’t forget about him. He steered his side to a victory of four wickets over Border.

This victory means that North West is in the running to gain promotion. Border’s duo of brothers, Jacques (70) and Ben van der Merwe (59) contributed half-centuries in the defeat.

South African U19 allrounder Riley Norton (84*) was the star for Boland as they beat Free State by 74 runs. This performance has kept Norton’s hopes to do the double – SA Schools cricket and rugby, alive.

Johan Wege (52) and Josh Jordaan (52) also weighed in with half-centuries for Boland.

KwaZulu-Natal topped their pool after a convincing 131-run victory over Eastern Province. Ross Coetzee (66*) and Hayden Bishop (50) led the batting effort, while Ntando Soni (3/11) continued his excellent performances with the ball in hand.

Summarised Scorecards (Limited Overs): 

Lions Cricket 196/8 (Luke Francis 73, Henricus Meyer 41, Tjaart Mentz 34; Cameron Strudwick 2/24, Ross Boast 2/30); KwaZulu-Natal Inland 167 (Natanzi Denega 30, Ross Boast 29, Nathan Beaumont 27; Fayaaz Vawda 4/31, Esosa Aihevba 2/25, Tjaart Mentz 2/30). Lions won by 29 runs.

KwaZulu-Natal 226/7 (Ross Coetzee 66*, Hayden Bishop 50, Bandile Mbatha 47, Evan Fouché 25, Extras 20; Jean Upman 3/21); Eastern Province 95 (Matthew Poole 36; Ntando Soni 3/11, Ross Coetzee 2/15). KwaZulu-Natal won by 131 runs.

Titans Cricket 230/9 (Lethabo Phahlamohlaka 52, Lukas van Rensburg 43, Mohammad Aslam 32, Hernus Marais 24, Modise Maloka 21, Marcus Bakker 21; Alexander Combrink 4/42, Raeeq Daniels 2/49); Western Province 214 (Benjamin Hansen 114*, Ethan Kotze 43, Paul James 28; Hernus Marais 4/18, Tristan Luus 2/41). Titans won by 16 runs.

Boland 246/6 (Riley Norton 84*, Johan Wege 52, Josh Jordaan 52; Kamohelo Mokoena 1/6); Free State 172 (Connor Nel 50, Juan Viljoen 45, Samakelo Lepetho 26; Juanrico Vorster 4/28). Boland won by 74 runs.

Border 214 (Jacques van der Merwe 70, Ben van der Merwe 59; Zavier van Rensburg 3/45; Berno de Klerk 2/37, Kalego Moloto 2/41); North West 217/6 (Ludwich Schuld 117*, Caiden Seleka 42, Extras 25; Lithemba Noyomi 3/62, Hlumelo Ntlola 2/35). North West won by four wickets.

Garden Route Badgers 273/6 (Zane Greyling 66, Elro Spies 61, Thurston Murphy 48, Extras 36, Devino Koen 21*; Tshegofatso Nthare 2/48, Parth Patel 2/54); Easterns 225 (Sabelo Mabanga 65, Tristan van Schalkwyk 57, Aldré Huyzers 43, Dean Hackner 23; Stefan May 4/48, Jessie Lewis 2/23, Charl-Francois Marais 2/54). Garden Route Badgers won by 48 runs.

Limpopo 89 (Victor Sehata 27, Michael Nel 21*; Malan Lubbe 3/14, Luan de la Rey 3/26, Tumiso Seetelo 2/11); Northern Cape 95/1 (Simon Liversage 41, Gift Seane 21*; Nsuku Mathye 1/26). Northern Cape won by nine wickets.

Kei 66 (Esam Mpafa 25*; Dian Eicker 4/16, Luke Poisson 3/19, Curtleigh Koetzee 2/9); Mpumalanga 67/1 (Rovonne Singh 31*; Qika Nika 1/4). Mpumalanga won by nine wickets.

For Media Enquiries, please contact Alungile Nyakambi on or 084 204 3689.



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.