CSA welcomes appointments of Independent Non-Executive Directors

CSA welcomes appointments of Independent Non-Executive Directors

The CSA Board welcomes the confirmation of Ms Vuyokazi Memani-Sedile, Mr Dheven Dharmalingam CA(SA) and Dr Eugenia Kula-Ameyaw, as additional members to the Board of Cricket South Africa.

Their appointment and tenure as Independent Non-Executive Directors will run up to the next Annual General Meeting scheduled for September 2020 after which the trio will be eligible for re-election at that meeting.

The Members’ Council will have the opportunity to re-elect them, which outcome will mean that their new term post the AGM will thereafter run in accordance with CSA’s Memorandum of Incorporation (MOI), which is a serving term of three years.

Ms Vuyokazi Memani-Sedile has more than 20 years’ work experience in finance and accounting. She currently serves as an independent director on various institutions including Cancer Association of South Africa (Investment Committee chair) NGO, Vista University Early Retirement Trust and Diocese of Pretoria Non Profit Company (Chairperson).

Mr Dheven Dharmalingam CA(SA) brings in over 20 years of expertise in Finance; taxation and Insurance. He occupies various positions on other boards, including the position of non-executive director and is also chairman of the audit committee for HBZ Bank SA Limited.

Dr Eugenia Kula-Ameyaw currently serves on various corporate boards and is also a member of an audit committee, the chair of the finance committee, sits in the strategic operations committees of various boards and has also previously chaired the Transformation Committee of Business Unity South Africa (BUSA).

Following these appointments, the process and procedure that will follow shortly, is for the nomination, election, and appointment of the Lead Independent Director, which will be conducted in accordance with the prescriptions of our MOI. As outlined in the MOI, the Lead Independent Director is identified and designated from amongst the ranks of the Independent Directors and appointed by the Members’ Council. The expected timelines for this process will at the latest be mid-June 2020.

“CSA President and Board chairman Chris Nenzani welcomed the new directors. “I am delighted to welcome the new directors to the Board. They bring important areas of expertise to our deliberations and I am sure will make important and valued contributions to our activities.”