PRETORIA: The Cricket South Africa (CSA) T20 Community Cup 2021/22 kicked off on Friday, 22 April 2022 with the following participating teams:

GM Old Edwardians CC (Lions Cricket), Clares CC (KZN Coastal), Burma Lads CC (Northern Cape), Irene Villagers CC (Titans Cricket), Western Province CC (Western Province), and SA Rural (Invitational Team).

Old Edwardians CC and Western Province CC got off to a good start, winning both their opening matches on Day 1.

Western Province won by 27 runs against the SA Rural team and went on to a bonus-point victory after a dominant performance against Irene Villagers CC. The Villagers were limited to only 85 runs in their innings, while Western Province raced to the target in less than ten overs, with the loss of one wicket.

Meanwhile, the Old Edwardians secured a comfortable seven-wicket victory over the Burma Lads in the morning and a nail-biting finish saw them claim a four-wicket win against Clares CC in Hammanskraal.

Clares CC, and Burma Lads both recorded a single victory each whilst Irene Villagers CC, and the SA Rural team will be looking for their first victory in the tournament today.



Morning Matches

GM OLD EDWARDIANS CC won the toss and elected to field

BURMA LADS CC 119/10 (19 Overs): Z Swart 27 / R Metzer 2/16L Tsewu 2/21A Glandile 4/18.

GM OLD EDWARDIANS CC 124/3 (18.4 Overs): M Workman 77*C Johnson 34*.

GM OLD EDWARDIANS CC won by 7 wickets

Man of the Match – Murray Workman


SA RURAL won the toss and elected to field

WESTERN PROVINCE CC 149/5 (20 Overs): D Da Costa 35*, D Mitchell 28, J Crowson 27 / S Ramprith 3/19.

SA RURAL 122/8 (20 Overs): N Engelbrecht 47G Esau 26 / J Behrens 5/11B Aarons 2/26.

WESTERN PROVINCE CC won by 27 runs

Man of the Match – Justin Behrens


IRENE VILLAGERS won the toss and elected to field

CLARES CC 164/4 (20 Overs): T Trenoworth 68J Riekert 29B Kerr 28 / S Maseko 3/34.

IRENE VILLAGERS 125/8 (20 Overs): Z Safdar 30*W Daman 31Z Verster 24 / K Mungroo 2/25J Smit 4/22.

CLAREs CC won by 39 runs

Man of the Match – Tylor Ternoworth


Afternoon Matches

IRENE VILLAGERS won the toss and elected to bat

IRENE VILLAGERS 85 (17.2 Overs): S Plaatjies 3/14J Behrens 3/17A Draai 2/10.

WESTERN PROVINCE CC 87/1 (9.4 Overs), G Christian 41D Mitchell 34.

WESTERN PROVINCE won by 9 wickets

Man of the Match – Siya Plaatjies


CLARES CC won the toss and elected to bat

CLARES CC 114/9 (20 Overs): J Wagner 60* / M Van Buuren 3/8R Metzer 2/20.

GM OLD EDWARDIANS CC 119/6 (19.4 Overs): J Lang 26 / J Smit 3/24A Razak 2/22.

GM OLD EDWARDIANS CC won by 4 wickets

Man of the Match – Mitch Van Buuren


SA RURAL won the toss and elected to bat

SA RURAL 141/4 (20 Overs): N Englebrecht 73*K Pretorius 42 / A Brooker 2/34.

BURMA LADS CC 142/6 (19.5 Overs): R Visagie 43W Schimper 43Z Swartz 29 / T Majeba 2/26.

BURMA LADS won by 4 wickets

Man of the Match – Nathan Engelbrecht



GM Old Edwardians CC (Lions Cricket): Callum Broodryk, Cameron Brunner, Andile Gladile, Gareth Harte, Calvin Johnson, Joshua Lang, Obakeng Maila, Reade Metzer, Lhaundre Pretorius, Muzzi Sheik, Luxolo Tsewu, Mitchell Van Buuren, Murray Workman.

Brandon Buckley (Coach), Arnold Ndindwa (Manager).

Clares CC (KZN Coastal): Tylor Trenoworth, John Riekert, Mike Alexander, Bruce Kerr, Jason Wagner, Aatish Maharaj, Abdul Haq Razak, Jesse Smit, Thando Ntini, Kerwin Mungroo, Vyash Gobind, Semel Pillay, Jawaad Aziz.

Fabian Lazarus (Coach), Bharath Maharaj (Manager).

Burma Lads CC (Northern Cape): Aidan Brooker, Nathan Plaatjies, Aubrey Swanepoel, Reuben Visagie, Chesley Barnes, Tristan Traugott, Mi-Chaelle Robinson, Wiehan Du Plessis, Zandre Swartz, Richard Baardt, Ethene Kruger, Werner Schimper, Naziel Adams

Heinrich Stride (Coach), Donavan Pillay (Manager).

Irene Villagers CC (Titans Cricket): Zendon Verster, Robert Farina, Junior Dala, Lance Trueman, Tema Mpete, Wayde Damon, Sibusiso Maseko, Bradley Joynt, Dian Liebenberg, Jacques Porter, Zakir Zafdar, Ryan Herselman, Jaco Moster.

Byron Fraser (Coach), Douglas Yates (Manager).

Western Province CC (Western Province): Derek Mitchell, James Crowson, Givon Christian, Nic Barlow, Dan Da Costa, Junaid Allie, Justin Behrens, Alex Draai, Kyle Simmonds, Luke Petersen, Siya Plaatjie, Bailey Aarons, Shawn Dyson.

Laurie Ward (Coach), Curtis Fourie (Manager).

SA Rural Team: Nathan Engelbrecht, Grant Essau, Levin Muller, Loyiso Mzaso, Sias Willemse, Andrew Louw, Francois Van Rooyen, Aviwe Tisane, Thandeni Majeba, Sivedh Ramprith, Kevin Pretorius, Basil Jr George, Ridewan Mlongo, Ettienne Bezuidenhout.

Lwane Landu (Coach), Christo Gous (Manager).



All matches will be available on PitchVision.


Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.