POLOKWANE: The Cricket South Africa Rural Week action is set for this February, two years after Covid-19 interruptions as the CSA Rural Inland tournament gets underway tomorrow, 17 – 20 February 2022 in Polokwane, Limpopo.

The CSA Rural Inland participating teams are: Central Gauteng Lions, Free State, KZN Coastal, KZN Inland, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Northern Cape and North West.

CSA Acting CEO, Pholetsi Moseki said; “Rural Cricket has always been the backbone of our pathway and it is important that this remains the case”.

“It is crucial that we access the entire population of South Africa to create a larger talent pool that will ensure that the players rising to the top are the best we can produce, for our teams to be the best in world cricket”, said Moseki.

CSA Senior Cricket Manager, Johan Weyers noted that the tournament’s main objective is to grow the talent-base through deliberate efforts in identifying, nurturing, and managing the talent.

“This tournament focuses on the development of rural cricketers who are not part of our high- performance programs and provides a platform from whom the identified players contest for higher honors to showcase their skills,” said Weyers.

“There is an important need to provide an incentive for our rural communities to challenge for titles and to unearth abundant talent, that might otherwise not be noticed”, Weyers concluded.

Fixtures for the Inland Rural Week are attached.


CENTRAL GAUTENG: Penning Charl, Penning Francois, Bezuidenhuot Ettiene, Warrington Henry, Janse Van Vuuren Drikus, Janse Van Vuuren Daniel, Nortje Brendon, Dinake Donald, Mariti Zane, Ngojo Thabiso, Aucamp Dylan, Nyofane Samson, Gobinduku Siphelele.

FREE STATE: Masheshemane Thabo, Van Rooyen Francois, Motsoeneng Neo, Kemp Armand, Leshoro Tshepo, Niewenhuizen Donovan, Masheshemane Tshepo, Makkink Jandre, Lekhooane Thabiso, Pretoruis Kevin, Taje Ndimande, Oosthuysen Coen, Mosoeu Tsikilele.

KZN COASTAL: Van Rensburg Ruan, Lombard Ashley, Bishop Morne, Jordan Niel, Kalkepersad Sachin, Reddy Gavin, Govender, Lashay, Nadesan, Alveiro, Mhlongo, Ridwaan, Thusi Siphamandla, Vorster Arnoldus, Basson Albertus, Zokufa Pakamile

KZN INLAND: Humphries Warren, Kewalparsad Prenay, Hancock Patrick, Love Darren, Siwela, Stembiso, Singh Akeel, Foster Anthony, Ramprith Suvedh, Mathews Jason, Buthelezi Freedom, Hewer Nick, Elliot Shaun, Hlatshwayo Sandile.

LIMPOPO: Jansen van Rensburg Theo, Swanepoel Adolf, Ngobeni Hector, Mboweni Nhlamolo, Mathebula Chris, Joubert Dewald, van Rheenen Aubrey, Willimse Sias, Mohale Chris, Skade Ben, Moloto Lesego, Mashele Collins, Sihlangu Solomon.

MPUMALANGA: Dube Elliott, Nkosi Mpendulo, Nomani Faheem, Sithole Siyabonga, Mokoena Lerato, Buthelezi Xolani, Neethling Shaun, Kroucamp Francois, Lombaard Ewan, Greeff Joshua, Leemans Stefan, van Antwerpen Johan, Swart Zuan.

NORTHERN CAPE: Macdonald Morne, Faihst Johanco, Olivier Claud, Adams Kelly, Botha Ettiene, Beukes Dylon, Meza Gregory, Cloete Kyle, Cloete Gerrit, Malgas Luther, Oberholzer Rudolph, Jaarts Elrado, Louw Damian.

NORTH WEST: Erasmus Carlo, Mathe Thebogo, Louw Andrew, Moralo Carl, Venter Quinton, Schonfeldt Estiaan, Snyman Ferdi, Tshireletso Tikoe, Badi Sthembiso, Maree Stephan, Safoor Danfred, Swanepoel Stiaan, Poyana Mthetheleli.

The CSA Rural Coastal Week will be held between 23 – 28 February 2022 in Oudtshoorn with the following teams: EP Midlands, EP Grahamstown, Border Aloes, Border Country, Border Villages, Kei, Boland and South Western Districts.