JOHANNESBURG: Cricket South Africa (CSA) today announced its panel of match officials for the 2021/22 season. The elite panel remains unchanged from last season while Roger Burne and Khatso Ntuli, both of Gauteng, Roderick Ellis of North West, Andre Olivier of South Western Districts and Warren Wyngaard of Western Province have all been included in the Reserve Panel for the first time. Rudi Birkenstock is a newcomer to the Match Referees Panel, taking the place of Devdas Govindjee who has decided to call it a day.

Senior umpires, Marais Erasmus (ICC Elite Panel), Shaun George, Adrian Holdstock, Bongani Jele and Allahudien Paleker (all ICC International Panel), serve on various ICC Panels while Lauren Agenbag is on the ICC Development Panel and Gerrie Pienaar, Shaid Wadvalla and Shandre Fritz serve on the ICC Panel of Match Referees.

“Congratulations to all our umpires on their deserved appointments for the approaching season,” commented CSA Acting CEO Pholetsi Moseki. “Umpires are central to the game of cricket and we are fortunate to have an extremely competent group of match officials.

“I would like to pay a special tribute to Devdas Govindjee who is retiring from active participation in the game after a long career both as player and match official. As a spin bowler he had an outstanding career for Eastern Province both before and after unity and as a match referee has officiated in 94 men’s and women’s international matches in both white ball formats and in more than 400 matches at domestic level.

“He has truly given a life-time of service to our great game. “Unfortunately, the Covid-19 pandemic protocols have once again forced us to postpone our exchange system with the Board of Control for Cricket in India, Cricket Australia and New Zealand Cricket which has contributed so much to the development of our umpires and we look forward to resuming this important programme as soon as circumstances permit,” he concluded.

CSA Elite Panel: Murray Brown, Mazizi Gampu, Siphelele Gasa, Lubabalo Gcuma, Shaun George, Stephen Harris, Ryan Hendricks, Adrian Holdstock, Arno Jacobs, Bongani Jele, Tom Mokorosi, Allahudien Paleker, Dennis Smith, Abdoellaah Steenkamp, Abongile Sodumo, Philip Vosloo, Brad White.
CSA Reserve List Panel: Lauren Agenbag, Roger Burne, Roderick Ellis, Jannie Erasmus, Gladman Gaseba, Marlon Jansen, Kevin Lawrence, Bongani Ntshebe, Khatso Ntuli, Andre Olivier, Jurie Sadler, Godwin von Willingh, Warren Wyngaard.

CSA Match Referees: Rudi Birkenstock, Shandre Fritz, Barry Lambson, Zama Ndamane, Laurence Matroos, Gerrie Pienaar, Shaid Wadvalla.


Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications       


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.