CSA Name Momentum Proteas Squad To Face India And West Indies In T20I Tri-Series

CSA Name Momentum Proteas Squad To Face India And West Indies In T20I Tri-Series

EAST LONDON – Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) National Pathway Selection Panel has today confirmed the 17-player squad that will represent the Momentum Proteas in their upcoming T20 International Tri-Series against India and the West Indies, taking place at the Buffalo Park Stadium in East London between 19 January – 02 February.

The Proteas Women will be utilizing this inbound series to finalize their preparations before playing hosts to the exciting ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 which kicks off on 10 February against Sri Lanka at the Six Gun Grill Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town.

This hugely anticipated series will be broadcast live on SuperSport and SABC Sport, with coverage also spanning worldwide through Sky Sport NZ, Sky Sport UK, and Willow TV, as well as STAR, CWC and Fox Australia.

Momentum Proteas 17-player squad for T20I Series (vs India and West Indies):
Suné Luus (Fidelity Titans) (Captain), Chloé Tryon (Hollywoodbets Dolphins) (Vice-Captain), Anneke Bosch (North West Dragons), Tazmin Brits (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Nadine de Klerk (Six Gun Grill Western Province), *Annerie Dercksen (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Lara Goodall (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Shabnim Ismail (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Sinalo Jafta (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Ayabonga Khaka (DP World Lions), Masabata Klaas (North West Dragons), *Tebogo Macheke (Fidelity Titans), Nonkululeko Mlaba (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Tumi Sekhukhune (DP World Lions), Delmi Tucker (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Six Gun Grill Western Province)

*Uncapped Players

There are two uncapped players included in the star-studded group, with promising Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers all-rounder Annerie Dercksen chosen alongside Fidelity Titans and SA Emerging ‘keeper Tebogo Macheke. Both players have been a part of the recent national training camps while delivering consistent performances in the domestic competitions.

The upcoming matches will also see the welcomed return of the contingent of players who took part in this season’s Women’s Big Bash League in Australia, namely Tryon, Marizanne Kapp and Shabnim Ismail as well as Laura Wolvaardt, who lifted the trophy with her Adelaide Strikers side.

Amongst the players not included in the touring squad is Dané van Niekerk, who missed out on eligibility for selection following an unsuccessful bid to meet the national benchmark standards in the physical battery assessment. Another significant exclusion from the tri-series squad is veteran wicketkeeper Trisha Chetty, who is still nursing a persistent back injury. .

CSA Momentum Proteas Convenor of Selectors, Clinton du Preez commented:
“As we go into our final preparation for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, I believe that the tri-series is a great opportunity for us to close out the squad. We are quite excited and looking forward to the tri-series and the players that have been included in the squad.

“It’s (also) a great opportunity for everybody to really come out and stake a claim for the World Cup.

“The uncapped players included have been part of the recent camps and have grown immensely. Annerie as an all-rounder will bring much depth to the squad and versatility within the team. Tebogo has been working hard and will add an additional option as a wicketkeeper and it’s great for them to be a part of it.

“They’ve shown a lot of improvement and I am looking forward to their involvement and how we can maximize the opportunity of them being in the squad. It’s a great occasion for them to come up against two strongholds in India and the West Indies, which will really test the resilience of the two players.

“Dané has progressed very well and it's a step in the right direction. Unfortunately, she did not meet the minimum national standards and therefore is ineligible for selection and we will continue working on her fitness as we continue through the tri-series, to assess her eligibility for the World Cup.” du Preez concluded.

Audio of CSA Momentum Proteas Convenor of Selectors, Clinton du Preez may be downloaded here.

T20I Tri-Series (South Africa, India, West Indies)
Thursday, 19 January 2023 – 19h00 SAST
1 st Tri-Series T20I: South Africa vs India (Buffalo Park, East London)
Saturday, 21 January 2023 – 15h00 SAST
2 nd Tri-Series T20I: South Africa vs West Indies (Buffalo Park, East London)
Monday, 23 January 2023 – 19h00 SAST
3 rd Tri-Series T20I: India vs West Indies (Buffalo Park, East London)
Wednesday, 25 January 2023 – 15h00 SAST
4 th Tri-Series T20I: South Africa vs West Indies (Buffalo Park, East London)
Saturday, 28 January 2023 – 19h00 SAST
5 th Tri-Series T20I: South Africa vs India (Buffalo Park, East London)

Monday, 30 January 2023 – 15h00 SAST
6 th Tri-Series T20I: West Indies vs India (Buffalo Park, East London)
Thursday, 02 February 2023 – 15h00 SAST
Tri-Series Final (Buffalo Park, East London)

For media enquiries, please contact:
CSA Media Manager – Lita Gqirana
Cell.: (+27) 76 503 9655
Email: litag@cricket.co.za


Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications

Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.