CSA Congratulate SA Sports Awards Nominees

CSA Congratulate SA Sports Awards Nominees

JOHANNESBURG – Cricket South Africa (CSA) has today congratulated the Momentum Proteas ODI team, Coach Hilton Moreeng, Ayabonga Khaka, Shabnim Ismail, Kagiso Rabada, and Marco Jansen for being nominated in different categories for the coveted 16th Annual SA Sport Awards.

CSA is equally delighted at being nominated for the National Federation of the Year Award. These nominations were announced by the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture on Wednesday.

The Momentum Proteas ODI team was nominated for the Team of the Year category, while the team’s coach, Hilton Moreeng was nominated for Coach of the Year award. Ayabonga Khaka and Kagiso Rabada have been nominated for the People’s Choice Awards, while Shabnim Ismail and Marco Jansen received nominations for the Sportswoman of the Year Award and Newcomer of the Year respectively.

It is the first in the history of the SA Sport Awards that cricket features so prominently in as many categories. This is an affirmation that cricket is growing and gaining traction in South Africa.

CSA Chief Executive Officer Pholetsi Moseki said, “I would like to congratulate all nominees for this achievement and thank them for putting cricket back on the map. I also thank the CSA Members’ Council, Board, Executive, Administrators, and staff for their ongoing contribution towards restoring confidence in cricket. They are the pulse of the game, and it is through their efforts that CSA has been nominated for the National Federation of the Year award.”

Dial *120*32020# to vote for Ayabonga Khaka and Kagiso Rabada for the People’s Choice Awards, or cast your vote online at www.sasportawards.gov.za


Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications



Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.