CSA Announces Squad For New Zealand Test Tour

CSA Announces Squad For New Zealand Test Tour

JOHANNESBURG: Cricket South Africa (CSA) has today announced a 14-player squad for the Proteas two-match Test tour of New Zealand next month.

Momentum Multiply Titans batter Neil Brand will captain the side that includes Test batters David Bedingham and Keegan Petersen, who are currently involved in the ongoing Betway Test series against India, along with Zubayr Hamza who has been called up for the New Year’s Test.

The experienced Khaya Zondo has also been named in the squad along with pace pair Duanne Olivier and Dane Paterson, as well as spinner Dane Piedt who will look to add to their Test caps.

Brand, who led South Africa A to a 2-1 series win over West Indies A earlier this month, is one of seven uncapped players – the others being batter Raynard van Tonder, all-rounders Ruan de Swardt and Mihlali Mpongwana, seam bowler Tshepo Moreki, spinner Shaun von Berg and wicketkeeper Clyde Fortuin.

The squad will depart for New Zealand on 19 January.


Proteas Test squad against New Zealand

Neil Brand (captain, Momentum Multiply Titans), David Bedingham (Western Province), Ruan de Swardt (North West Dragons), Clyde Fortuin (Gbets Rocks), Zubayr Hamza (DP World Lions), Tshepo Moreki (DP World Lions), Mihlali Mpongwana (Western Province), Duanne Olivier (DP World Lions), Dane Paterson (Western Province), Keegan Petersen (Gbets Rocks), Dane Piedt (ITEC Knights), Raynard van Tonder (North West Dragons), Shaun von Berg (Gbets Rocks) and Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins).

Test head coach Shukri Conrad said: “Firstly I would like to congratulate the players that will be going on a Proteas tour for the first time. It is a real honour to represent your country, so they should savour the moment.

“The players picked for this tour have every chance of challenging New Zealand and we have full confidence they will do exactly that when we arrive for the first Test match at Mount Maunganui.

“Most of these guys participated in the recent ‘A’ series against West Indies where they showed that they have what it takes against players of international calibre. That experience will no doubt leave them in a better position for what we expect to be a testing series in New Zealand.”



Shukri Conrad (Head Coach), Khomotso Volvo Masubelele (Team Manager), Piet Botha (Bowling Coach), Kruger van Wyk (Fielding Coach), Imraan Khan (Batting Consultant), Matthew Reuben (Performance Analyst), Sizwe Hadebe (Physiotherapist), Runeshan Moodley (Strength and Conditioning Coach), Dr Konrad von Hagen (Team Doctor), Lucy Davey (Media Manager), Kyle Botha (Logistics and Masseur) and Zunaid Wadee (Security).


Tour itinerary

Warm-up Match

29 – 31 January at 11:00 local time  

New Zealand XI vs South Africa – Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln University

Test Series

04 – 08 February at 11:00 local time
New Zealand vs South Africa – Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

13 – 17 February at 11:00 local time
New Zealand vs South Africa – Seddon Park, Hamilton



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications 


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.