JOHANNESBURG: Cricket South Africa (CSA) has today confirmed the provisional 21-player Proteas Women squad that will be representing Team South Africa in T20 cricket at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham from 29 July – 07 August. This will be the first time the format and the women’s game are included in the Games’ history.

South Africa have been drawn in Group B and will come up against New Zealand, England, and Sri Lanka for a place in the semi-finals, with the final set for Sunday, 07 August.

South Africa’s T20 Cricket Provisional Squad for 2022 Commonwealth Games:
Anneke Bosch (Senwes Dragons), Tazmin Brits (Senwes Dragons), Trisha Chetty (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Nadine de Klerk (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Lara Goodall (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Sinalo Jafta (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Ayabonga Khaka (Imperial Lions), Masabata Klaas (Senwes Dragons), Lizelle Lee (Senwes Dragons), Suné Luus (Titans Ladies), Nonkululeko Mlaba (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Tumi Sekhukhune
(Imperial Lions), Shabnim Ismail (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Chloé Tryon (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Mignon du Preez (Titans Ladies), Dané van Niekerk (Eastern Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Andrie Steyn (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Raisibe Ntozakhe (Imperial Lions), Delmari Tucker (Six Gun Grill Western Province)

The talented group of players features 14 members of the squad who took part in the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 Cricket World Cup as well all 18 stars that travelled and played in this year’s 50-over global showpiece in New Zealand.

Captain, Dané van Niekerk has also been named in the enlarged squad as she continues her rehabilitation journey from a fractured ankle, while the only uncapped player in Delmi Tucker is also listed as a potential member of the Games’ contingent.

Despite not playing much T20 cricket in the last 12 months, the Proteas will head into the Birmingham Games as serious contenders following their impressive showing in the 2020 T20 World Cup where they were denied by Duckworth/Lewis in the semi-finals against hosts and eventual winners, Australia.

Hilton Moreeng’s charges are currently in Ireland for a white ball tour that features a three-match T20 series, with South Africa levelling the series one-all with a vehement display in the second encounter following a defeat in the series-opener. The decider gets underway on Wednesday, 08 June from 17h30 SA time (16h30 local time).

South Africa will finalize their Commonwealth Games preparation with three rip-roaring T20 clashes against England between 21 – 25 July as part of their multi-format tour to the United Kingdom.

A final 15-player squad will be announced on 12 July.

CSA Chief Executive Pholetsi Moseki commented:

“This is a momentous occasion for Cricket South Africa and women’s cricket as a whole as we prepare to send a team to the prestigious Commonwealth Games for the first time in 24 years, where the men’s team proudly won gold at the Malaysia Games in 1998.

“On behalf of Cricket South Africa, I would like to wish all the players and management set to represent the sport we all hold dearly to our hearts all the very best during this historic Commonwealth Games campaign. Coach Hilton Moreeng and the final squad the selectors will decide on will no doubt continue to make us as a country extremely proud on the cricket field.

“This Proteas group will join a unique class of the cricketing fraternity who have flown the South African flag in a multi-code event, standing side-by-side with high-performance athletes from various sports, including track and field, swimming, gymnastics as well as netball.

“We would also like to extend our gratitude to the South African Sports Confederations and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) for their facilitation of the team’s preparedness for this truly global event.”

Team Management:
Hilton Moreeng (Head Coach), Sedibu Mohlaba (Team Manager), Dillon du Preez (Assistant Coach), Abram Ramoadi (Performance Analyst), Molebatsi Theletsane (Physiotherapist), Zane Webster (Strength and Conditioning Coach)

South Africa’s 2022 Commonwealth Games T20 Cricket Fixtures:
Saturday, 30 July @ 11h00 local time – New Zealand vs South Africa
Tuesday, 02 August @ 11h00 local time – England vs South Africa
Thursday, 04 August @ 11h00 local time – South Africa vs Sri Lanka

2022 Commonwealth Games T20 Cricket Teams:
Group A:
Australia, Barbados, India, Pakistan
Group B:
England, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka

For media enquiries, please contact:
Team Media Manager – Lita Gqirana
Cell.: (+27) 76 503 9655
Email: litag@cricket.co.za

Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.