About Cricket South Africa

Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres. It initially operated under the name of the United Cricket Board of South Africa (UCB) which came into being on 29 June 1991, following the completion of the unity process between the South African Cricket Union (SACU) and the South African Cricket Board (SACB). CSA was formed in 2002 and ran parallel to UCB, with the UCB responsible for the administration of amateur cricket and CSA responsible for professional cricket. As a result of changes in the tax laws, UCB was amalgamated into CSA in 2008.

CSA is conducted on a non-profit basis with the intent and purpose that its capital and income, from whatever sources, shall be applied solely towards the promotion of its objective and the advancement of cricket in South Africa contributing towards the sustainability and growth of cricket in the regions of its respective Members.


1991-1992: Geoff Dakin
1992-1998: Krish Mackerdhuj
1998-2000: Ray White
2000-2003: Percy Sonn
2003-2007: Ray Mali
2007-2008: Norman Arendse
2008-2011: Dr. Mtutuzeli Nyoka
2011-2012: AK Khan (acting)
2012-2013: Dr. Willie Basson (acting)
2013-2020: Chris Nenzani
2020-onwards: Beresford William (acting)
2021: Rihan Richards (acting)


1991-2000: Dr. Ali Bacher
2000-2012: Gerald Majola
2012-2013: Jacques Faul (acting)
2013: Naasei Appiah (acting)
2013-2017: Haroon Lorgat
2017-2020: Thabang Moroe
2019-2020: Dr Jacques Faul (acting)
2020-onwards: Kugandrie Govender (acting)
2021: Pholetsi Moseki (acting)


1991: Clive Rice (ODI only)
1992-1994: Kepler Wessels
1994-2000: Hansie Cronje
2000-2003: Shaun Pollock
2003-2014: Graeme Smith
2011: AB de Villiers became captain of the limited overs squads
2013: Faf du Plessis became captain of the T20 squad
2014-2016: Hashim Amla
2016: AB de Villiers
2016-2019: Faf du Plessis
2020: Quinton de Kock
2021: Temba Bavuma (ODI & T20) and Dean Elgar (Test)


1991-1994: Mike Procter
1994-1999: Bob Woolmer
1999-2002: Graeme Ford
2002-2004: Eric Simons
2004-2005: Ray Jennings
2005-2010: Mickey Arthur
2010-2011: Corrie van Zyl
2011-2013: Gary Kirsten
2013-2017: Russell Domingo
2017-2019: Ottis Gibson
2019: Enoch Nkwe
2020: Mark Boucher