BIRMINGHAM: Team South Africa trio, Marizanne Kapp, Trisha Chetty and Tumi Sekhukhune have been ruled out of the inaugural Women’s T20 competition at the 2022 Commonwealth Games taking place in Birmingham between 29 July – 07 August.

Experienced wicketkeeper, Chetty misses out due to a back injury and returns home from the Momentum Proteas camp following an extensive tour to the United Kingdom.

Kapp will remain at home in Gqeberha for family reasons which also kept her out of the three-match T20 International series against England after producing stellar performances throughout the tour.

The third player missing out of the historical Games will be right-arm seamer Sekhukhune, who is still nursing a recurrent groin injury suffered ahead of the third One-Day International between South Africa and the English side earlier in the month       .

The three players will be replaced by all-rounder Delmi Tucker and top-order batter, Tazmin Brits, who are already with the 14-player traveling party checking into Birmingham.

Team South Africa – Women’s T20 Competition at 2022 Commonwealth Games:

Suné Luus (Captain) (Titans Ladies), Chloé Tryon (Vice-Captain) (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal),  Anneke Bosch (Senwes Dragons), Tazmin Brits (Senwes Dragons), Nadine de Klerk (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Mignon du Preez (Titans Ladies), Lara Goodall (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Shabnim Ismail (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Sinalo Jafta (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Ayabonga Khaka (Imperial Lions), Masabata Klaas (Senwes Dragons), Nonkululeko Mlaba (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal),  Delmi Tucker (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Six Gun Grill Western Province)

Team South Africa’s 2022 Commonwealth Games T20 Cricket Fixtures – 

Saturday, 30 July @ 11h00 local time – New Zealand vs South Africa

Tuesday, 02 August @ 11h00 local time – England vs South Africa

Thursday, 04 August @ 11h00 local time – South Africa vs Ireland

Saturday, 06 August @ 11h00 local time – Semi-final 1

Saturday, 06 August @ 18h00 local time – Semi-final 2

Sunday, 07 August @ 10h00 local time –Bronze Medal

Sunday, 07 August @ 17h00 local time – Gold Medal


For media enquiries, please contact: 

Team Media Manager – Lita Gqirana 

Cell.: (+27) 76 503 9655




Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.