GQEBERHA: Reeza Hendricks’ attacking intent with the bat together with three wickets by Gerald Coetzee helped the Proteas edge out India by five wickets on the DLS Method in the second KFC T20 International (T20I) at Dafabet St George’s Park in Gqeberha on Tuesday.

The right-hander struck eight boundaries and a six in his 49 off 27 balls and was supported well by captain Aiden Markram (30) as the hosts hunted down a revised 152-run target in 15 overs with seven balls to spare.

Earlier it was Coetzee’s three-for that helped restrict the tourists to 180 for seven after the home side won the toss and elected to bowl first under murky skies in the Eastern Cape.

Marco Jansen (1/39) and Lizaad Williams (1/32) landed two early blows by dismissing India’s openers Yashasvi Jaiswal and Shubman Gill respectively – both without troubling the scorers – before the middle order rallied.

Tilak Varma (29), captain Suryakumar Yadav (56 off 36 balls, 5 fours, 3 sixes) and Rinku Singh (68 off 39 balls, 9 fours, 2 sixes) all made key runs to get their side back on track.

Player of the Match Tabraiz Shamsi (1/18) and Coetzee did manage to strike, before Ravindra Jadeja (19) added some late runs as the tourists reached 180 for seven when rain curtailed their innings after 19.3 overs.

After the DLS adjustment, South Africa’s top three came out firing to put India under the cosh. They were 96 for one at one stage in the eighth over, before some jitters saw the departures of the skipper and Hendricks together with Heinrich Klaasen (7).

David Miller powered on with 17 off 12 balls, with Tristan Stubbs (14*) and Andile Phehlukwayo (10*) then completing the job to put SA 1-0 up with one to play in Johannesburg on Thursday.

Match one of the series was abandoned without a ball being bowled due to rain in Durban on Sunday.


Proteas T20I squad against India

Aiden Markram (captain, Momentum Multiply Titans), Ottniel Baartman (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Matthew Breetzke (Dafabet Warriors), Nandre Burger (Western Province), Gerald Coetzee (Momentum Multiply Titans, 1st and 2ndT20Is), Donovan Ferreira (Momentum Multiply Titans), Beuran Hendricks (Western Province), Reeza Hendricks (DP World Lions), Marco Jansen (Dafabet Warriors, 1st and 2nd T20Is), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Andile Phehlukwayo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tristan Stubbs (Dafabet Warriors), and Lizaad Williams (Momentum Multiply Titans).


South Africa KFC T20I Series against India

Sunday, 10 December 

South Africa vs India – Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium, Durban

Match abandoned

Tuesday, 12 December

South Africa beat India by 5 wickets – Dafabet St George’s Park, Gqeberha

Thursday, 14 December

South Africa vs India – DP World Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications 


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres