Cobras, Titans secure places in Cubs Week Final

Cobras, Titans secure places in Cubs Week Final

STELLENBOSCH: The Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras will meet the Momentum Multiply Titans in the final of the Cricket South Africa (CSA) Under-19 Franchise Cubs Week after both teams ended the group stage of action with impressive wins in Stellenbosch on Saturday.  

Ethan Cunningham was the star man for the impressive Cape outfit, hitting a half-century and claiming two wickets as they made it four wins from four at what is the 14th edition of the tournament, being played in a bio-secure environment (BSE) at the University of Stellenbosch. 

The Titans, meanwhile, secured their ticket to the championship decider thanks to Jordan Hermann’s half-century and a four-wicket haul by Nathan Steyn in a straightforward 40-run win over the Warriors. 

The Hollywoodbets Dolphins won the day’s other match by ousting the VKB Knights in a 44-run triumph. 

The match of the day, however, was at Tassies Oval where the Cobras edged out the Lions by one wicket in a neck-and-neck affair. 

Batting first after winning the toss, Taheer Isaacs struck a wonderful century – 114* off 131 balls (9 fours, 2 sixes) – as the Highveld outfit posted 257 for seven. 

Cunningham finished as the pick of the bowlers with two for 29. The all-rounder then opened the batting for the Cobras and shared in a strong opening stand with Daniel Smith (33) that put their side on track for victory. 

However, the Lions then began to chip away thanks in the main to Nkhanyiso Mkhize (3/29) and Zack Momberg (2/51) leaving their side on top as the two teams headed towards the decisive final five overs. 

But Kaden Solomon’s unbeaten run-a-ball 44 and 38 off 33 deliveries from Michael Levitt helped drag the Cobras over the line with three deliveries to spare. 

Defeat for the Lions meant they missed out on the final at the expense of the Titans, who were too good for the Warriors. 

The Centurion-based outfit batted first at the main Coetzenburg Oval where they posted 228 for eight after yet another stellar contribution by captain Hermann. 

The skipper struck 71 (127 balls, 5 fours), and together with Dewald Brevis (58 off 52 balls, 4 fours, 4 sixes), were the main contributors for their side. 

Warriors captain George van Heerden (45) again top-scored for his team, but Steyn (4/34) and Hardus Coetzer (3/41) shared seven wickets to leave the boys from Eastern Cape all out for 188 in 42.1 overs. 

Finally, the Dolphins were the day’s biggest winners as they cruised past the Knights at Maties C Field. 

Luc Benkenstein was once more in the runs for the KwaZulu-Natal side, helping them amass 272 for nine with his dazzling 81 off 64 balls (7 fours, 3 sixes). Nicholas Hatton (54 off 62 balls, 8 fours) also hit a half-century for the Dolphins. 

The Knights made a decent fist of the chase after Lerato Nqoyi’s unbeaten 73 (126 balls, 9 fours) and 51 (64 balls, 4 fours, 2 sixes) by Reeza Alexander. 

But Benkenstein’s three for 43 helped restrict the Central Franchise to 228 for eight.  

The tournament, with selected matches live streamed on SuperSport channel 245 via the DSTV Now app, is the foundation of the Talent Acceleration Programme (TAP) and all the players competing have a chance to be selected in the SA Under-19 squad that is due to be announced shortly after its conclusion.  

The final day of the U19 Franchise Cubs Week takes place on Sunday. To follow all the action live from Stellenbosch, visit


Sunday, 07 February 2021    

Final: 1st (Six Gun Grill Cape Cobras) vs 2nd (Momentum Multiply Titans) at Coetzenburg Oval, Stellenbosch    

3rd (Imperial Lions) vs 4th (Hollywoodbets Dolphins) at Tassies Oval, Stellenbosch    

5th (VKB Knights) vs 6th (Warriors) Maties D Field, Stellenbosch    


HOLLYWOODBETS DOLPHINS CUBS: Slade van Staden (KZN Inland), Nicholas Hatton (KZN Inland), Andile Simelane (KZN Inland), Luc Bekenstein (KZN Inland), Keagan Crawford (KZN Inland), Matthew Boast (KZN Inland), Sanele Mbatha (KZN Inland), Colbe Dyer (KZN Inland), Chad Laycock (KZN Coastal), Ronan Vardaya (KZN Coastal), Thulani Cheliza (KZN Coastal), Joshua Stride (KZN Coastal),  Banele Cele (KZN Coastal), Andile Wanda (KZN Coastal).  

IMPERIAL LIONS CUBS: Phemelo Sepathi (North West), Liam McCarthy (GCL), Heinrigh Pieterse (GCL), Taheer Isaacs (GCL), Gerard Coetzee (GCL), Michael Copeland (GCL), Caleb Seleka (North-West), Nkhanyiso Mkhize (GCL), Simo Potelwa (GCL), Zack Momberg (GCL), Liam Alder (GCL), Ronan Herrmann (GCL), Reuben du Toit (GCL), Samuel Ruwisi (GCL).   

MOMENTUM MULTIPLY TITANS CUBS: Om Thakkar (Northerns), Jordan Hermann (Northerns), Zeeshan Ismail (Northerns), Kagiso Ngwenya (Northerns), Akhulile Makatu (Mpumalanga), Jan Hendrik (Hardus) Coetzer (Northerns), Khayalethu (Khaya) Nyamathe (Easterns), Christiaan Daniels (Northerns), Ryan Maxl (Easterns), Selo (Valentine) Kitime (Northerns), Dewald Brevis (Northerns), Jabulani Nkosi (Northerns), Khaif Patel (Limpopo), Nathan Steyn (Easterns). 

SIX GUN GRILL CAPE COBRAS CUBS: Daniel Smith (Western Province), Ethan Cunningham (Western Province), Kai Curran (Western Province), Siyambonga Nyawose (Western Province), Dewald Grove (Boland), Kamvelethu Feni (South Western Districts), Michael Levitt (Western Province), Nicholas Keevy (Boland), Kaden Solomon (Western Province), Nathan Jacobs (Boland), Darian Naidoo (Western Province), Ayabonga Ngondo (South Western Districts), Salmaan Ajam (Western Province), Asakhe Tsaka (Western Province).  

WARRIORS CUBS: Adam du Plessis, Jade Smith, Ziphozinhle Ruiters, George van Heerden, Sonwabiso Tshona, Garwin Dampies, Ethan Frosler, Adam Richards, Lihle Sizani, Matt Fourie, Joshua Stevenson, Eli Thorne, Hlonela Bune, Aphiwe Mnyanda.   

VKB KNIGHTS CUBS: JD Bruwer (Free State), Yusuf Suliman (Northern Cape), Reeza Alexander (Free State), Boitumelo Melesi (Northern Cape), Gerrit Badenhorst (Free State), Lerato Nqoyi (Free State), Mvula Chabalala (Free State), Matthew Davids (Free State), Mbongi Mhlanga (Free State), Marco Fouche (Free State), Zander Rasmussen (Free State), Liam Doherty (Free State), Sello Sesing (Free State), GJ Maree (Free State).