Chanderpaul, Hodge Half-Centuries Edge Windies Ahead Of SA ‘A’ On Day 2

Chanderpaul, Hodge Half-Centuries Edge Windies Ahead Of SA ‘A’ On Day 2

BENONI: Half-centuries from Tagenarine Chanderpaul and Kavem Hodge ensured West Indies A gained a first innings advantage over South Africa A (SA ‘A’) on the second day of the first four-day match at Willowmoore Park in Benoni on Wednesday.

The visitors resumed the morning on 46 for no loss and Chanderpaul and Hodge struck gritty 70s to guide their side to 314/9 declared and secure a first innings lead of 27 runs.

Tshepo Moreki (3/56), Dane Piedt (2/60), Hardus Viljoen (2/92), Neil Brand (1/26) and Mihlali Mpongwana (1/35) were all amongst the wickets for the hosts.

Moreki impressed with a double strike in the space of one over in the morning session. Zachary McCaskie (31) drove the ball square to Zubayr Hamza at point before Kirk McKenzie (0) edged one behind four balls later.

Chanderpaul and Hodge then dug in and put on a third-wicket partnership worth 110 runs. Viljoen eventually got the breakthrough when he pinned Chanderpaul (78 off 150 balls, 12 fours) leg before. That wicket brought another for Viljoen, with Tevin Imlach caught for 16.

Mpongwana was next to strike for the home side when the well-placed Hodge (73 off 151 balls, 9 fours) feathered one behind.

With the score on 213/5, contributions from Joshua Da Silva (20), Kevin Sinclair (39), Akeem Jordan (40) ensured the visitors surpassed SA ‘A’s first innings total of 287/9d.

SA ‘A’ openers Brand (3*) and Tony de Zorzi (0*) saw out the last three overs of the day. View full scorecard here.


South Africa ‘A’ squad against West Indies A

Neil Brand (Momentum Multiply Titans, captain), David Bedingham (Western Province), Ruan de Swardt (North West Dragons), Tony de Zorzi (Western Province), Clyde Fortuin (Gbets Rocks), Zubayr Hamza (DP World Lions), Tshepo Moreki (DP World Lions), Mihlali Mpongwana (Western Province), Duanne Olivier (DP World Lions), Dane Patterson (Western Province), Keegan Petersen (Gbets Rocks), Dane Piedt (ITEC Knights), Raynard van Tonder (North West Dragons), Hardus Viljoen (Gbets Rocks) and Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins).


Tour itinerary

21 – 24 November at 10:00 

South Africa A vs West Indies A – Willowmoore Park in Benoni

28 November – 01 December at 10:00

South Africa A vs West Indies A – Buffalo Park in East London

05 – 08 December at 10:00

South Africa A vs West Indies A – Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications 



Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.