SYDNEY: Kagiso Rabada and Keshav Maharaj claimed two more wickets on the second day of the third and final Test as Australia remained in control over the Proteas at the SCG in Sydney on Thursday.

The hosts reached stumps on 475 for four thanks to a career-best unbeaten 195 (368 balls, 19 fours, 1 six) by Usman Khawaja and 104 (192 balls, 11 fours, 2 sixes) from Steve Smith. Travis Head plundered an attacking 70 off 59 balls (8 fours, 1 six) late on to reinforce their position of dominance in which they adding 328 runs in the 84 overs that were bowled on day two.

For South Africa, who trail 2-0 in the series, spinner Maharaj (1/108) and pace spearhead Rabada (1/119) took the two wickets to fall, but plenty of work lay ahead for their batters when their turn was likely to arrive on day three.

After a rain-affected opening day that allowed for only 47 overs to be bowled, it was a much more fruitful day in terms of the weather. However, it was the home team who dominated with opener Khawaja and Smith putting on 209 for the third wicket to get them going. The former went on to record his 13th career century and was still there at the end, while the latter posted his 30th Test ton.

The stand finally broke when Maharaj caught Smith off his own bowling – collecting his first wicket of the series in the process – shortly after the former Australian captain had reached three figures.

Head was next in and his attacking innings allowed his side to add 112 for the next wicket in less than 20 overs. His aggressive intent also led to his downfall and he eventually fell to a good catch by substitute fielder Rassie van der Dussen off Rabada fielding at deep square leg. That left Matt Renshaw (5*) to bat alongside Khawaja until rain stopped play early late in the day.

Proteas Test squad against Australia

Dean Elgar (captain, Momentum Multiply Titans), Temba Bavuma (DP World Lions), Gerald Coetzee (ITEC Knights), Sarel Erwee (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Simon Harmer (Momentum Multiply Titans), Marco Jansen (Dafabet Warriors), Heinrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Anrich Nortje (Dafabet Warriors), Kagiso Rabada (DP World Lions), Rassie van der Dussen (DP World Lions), Kyle Verreynne (wicketkeeper, Six Gun Grill Western Province), Lizaad Williams (Momentum Multiply Titans), Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins).


South Africa Test Tour to Australia Itinerary

Four-Day Tour Match

09 – 12 December

Cricket Australia XI drew with South Africa – The Allan Border Field, Brisbane



17 – 21 December

Australia beat South Africa by six wickets – The Gabba, Brisbane


26 – 30 December

Australia beat South Africa by an innings and 182 runs – MCG, Melbourne


04 – 08 January

Australia vs South Africa – SCG, Sydney



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men and women, both in the professional and amateur spheres.