STELLENBOSCH: Western Province claimed a 146-run victory against KwaZulu-Natal Inland in the main match of the 2022 CSA Khaya Majola Week at the Coetzenburg Oval on Sunday.

The Cape Town based-side had slumped to 50/4 in 15 overs but Bongile Mfunelwa (66) and Juan James (38) anchored the innings to add 86 runs for the fifth wicket to help the team set a respectable total of 218 runs

KZN Inland was bundled out for only 72 runs, with Jake Carstens adding 15 runs with the bat to his 3/28 figures.

Asakhe Tsaka (4/19) and Liyema Waqu (2/14) did the most damage with the ball in hand for Western Province.

The last day of the tournament also saw three players produce five-wicket hauls.

Border’s spin bowler Amangile Twani removed five of Limpopo’s batsmen from the crease for a mere 14 runs as the latter was restricted to only 96 runs.

The Namibian Cheetahs’ right-arm unorthodox spin bowler, Gerhard Janse van Rensburg (5/29), helped his side to a 31-run victory over Mpumalanga.

Free State left their best performance for the final day of the tournament. Their spin bowler Dakalo Leketa (5/33) probably booked his place in the SA Colts side thanks to his five-wicket haul in their 78-run victory over North West.

Free State batted first and Gerhard Maree (87) and Samokelo Lepheto (66) helped their side to reach 252 runs thanks to their half-centuries. Last year’s SA Colts captain, Joe Meyer (45), also weighed in with more than valuable contribution.

Lions also managed to finish the tournament with a victory as they convincingly defeated the Titans by seven wickets. Christopher King removed four of the Titans’ batsmen for only 25 as they were restricted to 141 runs.

Lions’ Thebe Gazide (40) and David Teeger (39) then laid the base for their team to ease past the target set.

The highest score of the final day was recorded by Easterns’ Khayelihle Sithole (97) who just missed out on his century against the Northern Cape. Easterns’ victory of 29 runs ended Northern Cape’s unbeaten record at this year’s tournament.



Western Province 218: (Bongile Mfunelwa 66, Juan James 38, Maahir Joseph 30; Jake Carstens 3/38, Matthew Urquhart 2/13, Ross Boast 2/36);

KwaZulu-Natal Inland 72: (Jake Carstens 15; Asakhe Tsaka 4/19, Liyema Waqu 2/14). Western Province won by 146 runs.

Titans 141: (Tristan Luus 39, Leo Sadler 34; Christopher King 4/25, Liam Alder 2/22, Kyle Glennostor 2/26);

Lions 144/3: (Thebe Gazide 40, David Teeger 39, Richard Seletswane 24, Reuben du Toit 24*; Tristan Luus 2/18). Lions won by seven wickets.

KwaZulu-Natal Coastal 205/9: (Mohamed Taqvi 48, Sagel Rajakumar 47*, Ross Montgomery 43; Nathan Jacobs 3/40, Riley Norton 2/31);

Boland 209/8: (William September 55, Werner Brand 43*, Josh Jordaan 26, Gysbert Wege 23; Mohamed Taqvi 2/19, Ryan Jairaj 2/31). Boland won by two wickets.

Free State 252: (Gerhard Maree 87, Samokelo Lepheto 66, Joe Meyer 45; Rico Fryer 3/43, Martin Bullock 3/53);

North West 174: (Bathabile Masigo 32, Rico Fryer 28, Ludwich Schuld 21, Martin Bullock 21, Dewald du Plessis 20; Dakalo Leketa 5/33, Khanyisile Nondwangu 2/55). Free State won by 78 runs.

Easterns 267: (Khayelihle Sithole 97, Kyle Enoch 27, Dewan Marais 26, Tian du Toit 26, Extras 22; Marno Coetzee 3/22, Gopolang Makitise 3/75, Naziel Adams 2/18);

Northern Cape 238: (Naziel Adams 55, Jody Barends 53, Ontlametse Kesiamang 45, Extras 31, Deshwin Swartz 30; Tian du Toit 3/33, Luphumlo Mhlongo 2/38, Jeandré Byleveld 2/47). Easterns won by 29 runs.

Eastern Province 208: (Casey Keevy 51, Corby van Heerden 41, Simnikile Soyaya 31, Matthew Beamish 31; Zandré Conradie 4/39, Ziano Lewis 2/40);

Garden Route Badgers 188/7: (Zander Nel 61*, Thurstin Murphy 38*, Keenan Arries 29, Elro Spies 20; Lisa Numba 3/32, Aphiwe Mnyanda 2/31). Eastern Province won by 20 runs.

Limpopo 96: (Nlovo Sithole 33; Awangile Twani 5/14, Lesego Botha 2/15);

Border 97/8: (Tre Gilbert 23*, Extras 22, Uzubenathi Kene 20; Ntemi Madimola 4/18). Border won by two wickets.

Namibia Cheetahs 132: (Jack Parker 45, Zacheo van Vuuren 21; Curtleigh Koetzee 4/28, Rickus Kramm 2/22, Quinlan Visagie 2/38);

Mpumalanga 101: (Jayden Schultz 26, Hannes Feuth 25; Gerhard Janse van Rensburg 5/29). Namibia Cheetahs won by 31 runs.

Border Kei 45: (Extras 13; Junior Kariata 3/5, Francois du Plessis 3/6, Nico Pieters 2/9, Addo Iita 2/25); Namibia Welwitchias 46/1: (SW Kuhn 28*; Myekwa Sibonisiwe 1/16). Namibia Welwitchias won by nine wickets.



Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.