POTCHEFSTROOM: The Cricket South Africa (CSA) T20 Challenge was affected by multiple rain-interruptions on Friday. This led to both encounters being revised via Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) method.

DP World Lions secured their first win in the competition with a seven-wicket bonus point victory against the Dafabet Warriors.

Warriors were put to the bat first as Lesiba Ngoepe (32) and Wihan Lubbe (27) shared a 48-run partnership for the first wicket.

For Lions, Lutho Sipamla struck first to dismiss Ngoepe, and Evan Jones (2/20 in four overs) followed with the wicket of Matthew Breetzke (8). Tetelo Maphaka clean bowled Rudi Second (12) and Jones returned for Lubbe as Warriors found themselves on 99/2 in the 16th over.

Jordan Hermann (16*) and Sinethemba Qeshile (3*) were at the crease when rain interrupted the Warriors on 106/4.

With DLS method, the game was reduced to 14 overs-per-side. The revised target meant the Lions needed 100 runs from 84 balls.

Cameron Delport smashed three fours and three sixes in his 30 off 11 as Lions quickly chased down the target.

Ryan Rickelton (19 off 11) and Delport paired up for 39 runs in their opening partnership. The latter was caught by Tshepo Ndwandwa off Lubbe and Rickelton trapped lbw by Beyers Swanepoel.

Dominic Hendricks was run out in the fifth over as Wiaan Mulder (31*) and Mitchell van Buuren (16*) smashed key knocks in their 42*-run partnership to see the Lions finish on 106/3 with 21 balls to spare.

Earlier, the Momentum Multiply Titans successfully defended 108 runs on another rain-interrupted clash. The Tshwane-based side had won the toss and elected to bat first.

The start of play was delayed when it showered as teams walked out to the field. A 45-minute delay resulted in the game being reduced to 16 overs-a-side. Further rain delays at the half-way point saw the game being reduced to 13 overs-a-side.

Western Province had done well to restrict the opponents to 108/7 in their allotted 13 overs.

Nandre Burger (2/20) struck first to claim the early wickets of Dewald Brevis and Dean Elgar within powerplay.

Jiveshan Pillay (37 off 24 with six boundaries and one maximum) had another brilliant performance with the bat, sharing a 39-run partnership with Dean Elgar (12) for the second wicket. It was not long before Mihlali Mpongwana dismissed both Pillay and Theunis de Bruyn in the eighth over and Titans slumped to 59/4.

Donavon Ferreira’s 27* off 15 (one boundary and two maximums) was crucial towards the end of the innings to take the Titans to 108 in 13 overs.

Mpongwana was the pick of the bowlers, returning 3/14 in two overs.

The Titans bowlers returned the favour when Ayabulela Gqamane claimed two wickets in the opening two balls dismissing Kyle Verreynne and Tony de Zorzi without any runs. Gqamane was on a hat-trick as his last ball was a dismissal in the previous clash against the DP World Lions on Wednesday.

Blitz line-up also struggled to add up any runs, losing wickets at regular intervals. Last minute resistance coming from George Linde (36 of 29) and Daniel Smith adding 21 off 16 but Blitz could only conjure up 95 runs in 13 overs at a loss of eight wickets.

Simon Harmer delivered superb spin, recording 2/15 in three overs as Titans won by 16 runs (DLS).


Upcoming Fixtures on Saturday, 22 October 2022 – JB Marks Oval

10h00: GbetsRocks vs Hollywoodbets Dolphins

14h30: Momentum Multiply Titans vs North West Dragons


Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications


Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.