JOHANNESBURG: The South Africa (SA) Under-19 Women are set to take on Zimbabwe U19 Women this October. The five-match T20 series will be held at Willowmoore Park in Benoni, between 01-07 October 2022.

The series forms part of the team’s preparations for the inaugural ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup that will be hosted in South Africa from 14-29 January 2023.

Dinesha Devnarain’s charges began their building journey early this year after multiple talent identification programmes and the CSA National Weeks.

Their journey to the first ever women’s U19 tournament will also see them playing against the senior domestic women’s teams.

Commenting on this continuous journey and looking ahead, Devnarain shared the team’s preparations, noting the various monitoring programmes for their skills, fitness, and overall development.

Devnarain said; “The CSA domestic season has started, and our girls are working closely with the domestic coaches at their relevant provinces when away from the team set-up.

“We have a very strong women’s domestic structure, and we pride ourselves with our brand of playing high-quality cricket. Playing against the different provincial teams will challenge us to bring out the best we can be.

“We started with this group of players in April early this year, building on to the playing philosophy that we want to adopt. I am hoping to see glimpses of that taking shape with this series and going forward.

“We are a young side, and I want these young women to put on good performances, listen to what the team demands and follow that up with skills acquired.

“Our journey also includes building leadership skills and I’m looking forward to seeing the girls learn to back and express themselves on the field. I want them to always walk off the field knowing they gave their all out on the field, build to the next game and be an improved unit that is getting better by the day,” concluded Devnarain.

SA U19s Girls vs Zimbabwe U19 T20 Squad:

Jemma Botha (Western Province), Simone Lourens (Titans), Anica Swart (North West), Madison Landsman (Easterns), Seshnie Naidu (KZN Coastal), Jenna Evans (Lions), Mona Lisa Legodi (Titans), Ayanda Hlubi (KZN Coastal), Caitlin Wyngaard (Western Province), Elandri Janse Van Rensburg (North West), Karabo Meso (Lions), Oluhle Siyo (Lions), Kayla Reyneke (Western Province), Diara Ramlakan (Lions), Miane Smit (Free State), Nthabiseng Nini (North West), Refilwe Moncho (Lions),

Sisanda Ngubane (KZN Coastal) misses out as she recovers from an injury.

SA U19 Women T20 Series vs Zimbabwe U19 – All Matches will be live on Pitchvision
Saturday, 01 October @ 13h00 – 1 st T20 – South Africa U19 vs Zimbabwe (Willowmoore Park, Benoni)
Sunday, 02 October @ 13h00 – 2 nd T20 – South Africa U19 vs Zimbabwe (Willowmoore Park, Benoni)
Tuesday, 04 October @ 10h00 – 3 rd T20 – South Africa U19 vs Zimbabwe (Willowmoore Park, Benoni)
Thursday, 06 October @ 13h00 – 4 th T20 – South Africa U19 vs Zimbabwe (Willowmoore Park, Benoni)
Friday, 07 October @ 10h00 – 5 th T20 – South Africa U19 vs Zimbabwe (Willowmoore Park, Benoni)

For media enquiries, please contact:
Alungile Nyakambi
Cell: 084 204 3689

Issued by: Cricket South Africa – Corporate Communications

Cricket South Africa (CSA), an affiliate of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the national governing body for the sport of cricket in South Africa and administers all aspects of South African cricket, men, and women, both in the professional and amateur sphere.