De Kock lands successive IPL titles with Mumbai

Wed, 11th November 2020
Quinton de Kock of South Africa

Quinton de Kock of South Africa

Quinton de Kock’s Mumbai Indians were crowned Indian Premier League (IPL) champions on Tuesday when they overcame Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the final that was played in Dubai.

The match drew the curtain on the 13th edition of the popular league, which was played in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in 2020 due to the Covid-19 outbreak across the world.

The decider at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium put De Kock up against his international team-mates, Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje, but it was the Proteas limited-overs captain who prevailed to secure his second IPL title in the process.

The 27-year-old joined Albie Morkel (Chennai Super Kings – 2010 and 2011) and Jacques Kallis (Kolkata Knight Riders – 2012 and 2014) on the list of South Africans to have won the famous competition on two occasions.

In Tuesday’s final, he struck 20 off 12 balls and also claimed two catches. His runs meant he at least crossed the 500 mark for the season, with his aggregate of 503 in 16 innings placing him sixth for 2020, where KL Rahul topped the charts with 670 runs.

De Kock’s catches, though, saw him extend his advantage as leading wicketkeeper in the tournament after he ended with 22 dismissals.

Amongst the bowlers, Kagiso Rabada’s final disappointment was slightly eased by the fact that he claimed the Purple Cap, which is awarded to the leading wicket-taker. The Proteas speedster claimed 30 wickets, two shy of the record of 32 held by Dwayne Bravo.

Delhi compatriot Nortje came fourth on the list with 22 wickets, the two having formed a deadly fast-bowling attack for the Capitals. Nortje also won wide acclaim for his pace during the campaign, by sending down the quickest ball in IPL history – a sizzling delivery of 156.22km/h.

Amongst the other South Africans to shine in the competition were veteran Chennai batsman Faf du Plessis after he finished the season with 449 runs, the 11th most, behind Royal Challengers Bangalore ace AB de Villiers (10th with 454 runs). The two played 13 and 15 games respectively.

Elsewhere, Lungi Ngidi claimed nine wickets in the four matches he played for Chennai, who also featured Imran Tahir in three matches that yielded one wicket.

Chris Morris played nine times for RCB nabbing 11 wickets, while Dale Steyn claimed one wicket in his trio of outings for the same team.

David Miller was the only other Proteas player to get a game, featuring once for Rajasthan Royals. Hardus Viljoen did not play any matches for Kings XI Punjab.

The full list of South Africans at IPL 2020 are: Faf du Plessis, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir (all Chennai Super Kings), AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn, Chris Morris (all Royal Challengers Bangalore), Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje (both Delhi Capitals), David Miller (Rajasthan Royals), Quinton de Kock (Mumbai Indians), Hardus Viljoen (Kings XI Punjab).