Samson, Dhawan power India to 4-1 series win

Reeza Hendricks of South Africa (Photo by Sameera Peiris/Gallo Images)

Reeza Hendricks of South Africa (Photo by Sameera Peiris/Gallo Images)

Reeza Hendricks again excelled with a dashing half-century but it was not enough as South Africa A ended the one-day leg of their tour to India with a 36-run defeat to the hosts in another rain-shortened clash in Trivandrum on Friday.

The right-hander, who hit a century in game one and an unbeaten 60 in game four, struck 59 off 43 balls (10 fours) in what was a 20-over per side game, with the tourists managing 168 all out in reply to India A’s 204 for four.

The home side batted first at the Greenfield International Stadium, where all the games have been played, and amassed a powerful 204 for four. Sanju Samson top-scored with a brutal 91 off 48 balls (6 fours, 7 sixes), while Shikhar Dhawan clubbed 51 off 36 balls (5 fours, 2 sixes).

The pair put on 135 for the second wicket after Beuran Hendricks (2/29) had struck in the first over of the game to dismiss Prashant Chopra for two.

It was all India from there as the Samson-Dhawan stand that came in 12.3 overs was complimented by captain Shreyas Iyer thumping 36 off 19 balls to help set 205.

George Linde, who was called up to the Standard Bank Proteas Twenty20 squad a day earlier, bagged two for 43.

The South Africans made a bright start thanks to Hendricks and they remained on course for victory at the halfway stage following a third-wicket partnership of 69 between the opener and Kyle Verreynne (44 off 24 balls).

But from 95 for two in the 11th over and then again 143 for three in the 15th over they lost their way.

Shardul Thakur bagged three for nine and Washington Sundar two for 39 to leave the South Africans all out with the final ball of the innings – and with it completing the series 4-1 in favour of their Indian counterparts.

The visitors will now remain at the same venue in Kerala state where they will practice over the weekend ahead of the first of two four-day matches against the same opponents that begin on Monday.

SA A one-day squad: Temba Bavuma (Imperial Lions, capt), Matthew Breetzke (Warriors), Kyle Verrynne (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Junior Dala (Multiply Titans), Theunis de Bruyn (Multiply Titans), Bjorn Fortuin (Imperial Lions), Beuran Hendricks (Imperial Lions), Reeza Hendricks (Imperial Lions), Heinrich Klaasen (Multiply Titans), George Linde (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Janneman Malan (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Marco Jansen (VKB Knights), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Sinethemba Qeshile (Warriors), Lutho Sipamla (Warriors).

SA A four-day squad: Aiden Markram (Multiply Titans, capt), Theunis de Bruyn (Multiply Titans), Zubayr Hamza (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Lungi Ngidi (Multiply Titans), George Linde (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Pieter Malan (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Eddie Moore (Warriors), Senuran Muthusamy (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Marco Jansen (VKB Knights), Dane Piedt (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Wiaan Mulder (Imperial Lions), Heinrich Klaasen (Multiply Titans), Lutho Sipamla (Warriors), Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins).