Pandey leads India to series win

Mon, 02nd September 2019
Khaya Zondo of South Africa

Khaya Zondo of South Africa

Captain Manish Pandey led from the front with a flying half-century that helped his India A side move into an unassailable 3-0 lead over South Africa A with a four-wicket win in match three of their one-day series at the Greenfield International Stadium in Trivandrum on Monday.

In a match reduced to 30 overs per side, the right-hander struck five sixes and three fours in a 59-ball 81 as the hosts cruised to their 208- run victory target with 13 balls to spare.

The result meant India had now won all the matches in the five-match series so far, with the remaining two games essentially being dead rubbers later this week.

They came into the game on the back of a 69-run victory in the opening game and two-wicket win in the heavily rain-reduced (21 overs) second match, but were put under pressure initially by the tourists, who won the toss and batted first.

After Reeza Hendricks (9) fell early, Janneman Malan (37) and Matthew Breetzke (36) helped take the South Africans to 92 for three at the halfway stage, before Temba Bavuma (27) and Khaya Zondo (21) continued to tick things forward steadily rather than rapidly.

It was only when top-scorer Heinrich Klaasen (44 off 21 balls) really put his foot down that the away side accelerated to reach 207 for eight.

Krunal Pandya was the pick of the bowlers with two for 23.

Anrich Nortje (2/41) then gave the visitors the perfect start by nabbing two wickets in three balls to leave the hosts on five for two. They slipped into further trouble when Pandya fell to Junior Dala (1/44) for 13.

But they recovered excellently thanks to Pandey and Ishan Kishan (40) putting on 60 for the fourth wicket to take the score to 96, with Shivam Dube (45 not out off 28) adding the finishing touches emphatically as the Asian side clinched the series.

Match four takes place at the same venue on Wednesday.

SA A one-day squad: Temba Bavuma (Imperial Lions, capt), Matthew Breetzke (Warriors), Kyle Verrynne (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Junior Dala (Multiply Titans), Theunis de Bruyn (Multiply Titans), Bjorn Fortuin (Imperial Lions), Beuran Hendricks (Imperial Lions), Reeza Hendricks (Imperial Lions), Heinrich Klaasen (Multiply Titans), George Linde (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Janneman Malan (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Marco Jansen (VKB Knights), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Sinethemba Qeshile (Warriors), Lutho Sipamla (Warriors).

SA A four-day squad: Aiden Markram (Multiply Titans, capt), Theunis de Bruyn (Multiply Titans), Zubayr Hamza (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Lungi Ngidi (Multiply Titans), George Linde (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Pieter Malan (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Eddie Moore (Warriors), Senuran Muthusamy (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Marco Jansen (VKB Knights), Dane Piedt (World Sports Betting Cape Cobras), Wiaan Mulder (Imperial Lions), Heinrich Klaasen (Multiply Titans), Lutho Sipamla (Warriors), Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins).